What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Re-learning old lessons

flyenforfun

Well Known Member
I've been flying since 1989 I was a flight instructor through the 90s and it's amazing to me how every once in a while you relearn an old lesson.today was a beautiful day 70° in December so I thought I would bring out the RV-8 for short flight. Doing the pre-flight I got distracted by a man asking me questions about my airplane and of course I'm a talker so I answered his questions and then moved on. Putting gas into the airplane I got distracted again by a new pilot asking pilot asking questions about the RV and complementing me on how well It looked. Again I was distracted from the task at hand. I had reeled up the fuel hoses and got my receipt then another plane pulled up behind me to get gas at the pumps so I rushed I got in the airplane started the engine and started to move forward and out of the corner of Me eye I saw the orange ground cable that was still connected to my exhaust pipe I promptly shut down the airplane an unstrapped myself and got out and remove the ground cable. I don't think anything would've happened it probably would've just put in the ground wire off however there were other possibilities like I could've ripped the ground strap and flew with the ground wire hanging behind me at any rate something happen but it just reminded me to pay attention and don't be distracted by others. So pay attention.

Last edited:
I think the clamp would've released, granted it was clear of the prop. The distractions/interruptions has happened to a lot of us. I've been caught and inquiried while refueling and I make a point to either stay focused on what I'm doing, politely, or stop completely. But the older I'm getting, the more I realize I need to make a checklist for my checklist.

When I see other guys hop in and start up, forgetting to remove the wheel chock, I don't feel so bad.