What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Thinking about starting a RV-8

Jetspud

Hello,

My name is David Elizondo, currently located in Shreveport La. I am a mechanic for the airlines with all my pilot ratings. Maintance wise I have done it all except sheet metal or composites. I was wanting to start a Rv-8 and was looking for some input on my ideas that I had.

First I was thinking of starting to buy the most expensive part of the kit, the fuse, and working my way down price wise. I was going to start with the tail but figure I rather buy the more expensive parts and work down. What did yall do when it came to decideing what to get first

Second, The only sheet metal experiance I have is when i was in A&P school and a few little jobs around work that I have volenteered to do. I have alot of sheet metal friends that want to help but you know how that goes everyone wants to help untell it comes time to actually doing it.. What kind of experiance did you guys have

Im going to schedual a tour at the factory in april to fiind out more about the projetct and mabey get a ride in the 8..

Thanks for your input..

David Elizondo

Last edited:
What kind of experience did you guys have

Zero.

Van's Instructions, Builder Web Sites, VAF, YouTube, and EAA Videos are apart of my ongoing training. It has been more than sufficient so far for sheet metal work ... I just worry about the FWF stage :eek: . I'm sure with your mechanical background you will have no issue jumping right in.

start with the lower cost kits first

Van's will recommend, and most everyone will agree, it is best to start with the tail, then wings, then fuselage.

Several reasons:
1) The tail parts are inexpensive, so as you are learning sheet metal work, if you goof, its not very expensive to do something over again