VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 05-29-2011, 10:59 AM
diamond diamond is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 710
Default Compressor installation question

For those of you who have larger compressors, say 60 gal and up, here's a question. They all seem to have either 3 or 4 legs with mounting holes on each. I'm told by the sales guy that you don't want to leave it and operate it on the wood pallet it came on. Which means I either need to drill holes in my garage floor and bolt it down, or something else. What are other viable alternatives, if any, other than bolting it to the garage/shop floor? Photos would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2011, 11:13 AM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 10,919
Default

Mine sets on small wood blocks with rubber on top and bottom. Not anchored down. Been working fine that way for over 20 years.

2-stage compressor, 80 gallon vertical tank. Plumbed to the wall through flex a line.
__________________
Mel Asberry, DAR since the last century. Over 1,000 certifications accomplished.
EAA Flight Advisor/Tech Counselor, Friend of the RV-1
Recipient of Tony Bingelis Award and Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
USAF Vet, High School E-LSA Project Mentor.
RV-6 Flying since 1993 (sold)
<rvmel(at)icloud.com>

Last edited by Mel : 05-29-2011 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2011, 11:39 AM
diamond diamond is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel View Post
Mine sets on small wood blocks with rubber on top and bottom. Not anchored down. Been working fine that way for over 20 years.

2-stage compressor, 80 gallon vertical tank. Plumbed to the wall through flex a line.
Yes, that's the type of installation I'm interested in. Does the vibration cause it to move across the floor at all? What size blocks and what type of rubber material are you talking about? Thanks Mel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2011, 11:42 AM
Kobwo's Avatar
Kobwo Kobwo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
Default

Mine is set up just like Mel's. Take a look here, the last pic shows the block under a leg. It's cut just bigger that the foot. I used a cut up old mouse pad under the wood. It doesn't move at all. Good luck and have fun!

Cheers,
__________________
Kobwo

Having to get out of the building business
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2011, 11:48 AM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 10,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond View Post
Yes, that's the type of installation I'm interested in. Does the vibration cause it to move across the floor at all? What size blocks and what type of rubber material are you talking about? Thanks Mel.
The blocks are about 4" square, 1" thick. The rubber is pretty hard, about 1/4" thick. Compressor does not move. It did move once from Plano to Farmersville, but not on a daily basis.
__________________
Mel Asberry, DAR since the last century. Over 1,000 certifications accomplished.
EAA Flight Advisor/Tech Counselor, Friend of the RV-1
Recipient of Tony Bingelis Award and Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
USAF Vet, High School E-LSA Project Mentor.
RV-6 Flying since 1993 (sold)
<rvmel(at)icloud.com>

Last edited by Mel : 05-29-2011 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2011, 11:57 AM
PJSeipel PJSeipel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albany, GA for the moment
Posts: 294
Default

Mine's been bolted to the wooden pallet it came on for the last 8 years. Never moved an inch while running. Of course, being in the military I move every 3 years, so bolting it to the floor isn't a good option for me. Leaving it on the pallet has made it easy to move with a hand-truck.


PJ Seipel
RV-10 #40032
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:04 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is online now
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 15,705
Default

Carpet....
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:54 PM
hendrik hendrik is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 182
Default

Rubber door mat.
__________________
Hendrik
Club-Libelle: flying
RV-8: on hold (new job , new home , no workshop (yet) )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:12 PM
lorne green lorne green is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oliver, B.C. Canada (Okanagan valley)
Posts: 786
Default 80 gallon

Three legs, bolted directly to the concrete floor with 1/2" bolts. I thought of rubber hockey pucks as an insulator, but went with simple.
The beauty of a larger capacity compressor is that it only turns on once or twice per session. Unless I'm using the disc grinder.
__________________
Lorne
RV 7a tip-up
Pre-cover MD-RA Inspected.
Canopy completed. Bonded with Sika-Flex.
Up on her mains, Firewall Fwd and wiring on going.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:24 PM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is offline
been here awhile
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 4,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond View Post
For those of you who have larger compressors, say 60 gal and up, here's a question. They all seem to have either 3 or 4 legs with mounting holes on each. I'm told by the sales guy that you don't want to leave it and operate it on the wood pallet it came on. Which means I either need to drill holes in my garage floor and bolt it down, or something else. What are other viable alternatives, if any, other than bolting it to the garage/shop floor? Photos would be helpful.
Mine (60 gal, Home Depot) is still bolted to the wooden pallet, been good for several years now. I think the pallet is fine as long as it doesn't deteriorate enough to allow the compressor to tip over.
__________________
Sam Buchanan
RV-6
Fokker D.VII replica
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.