What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

NextGen Security Research

First, I'm a big computer programmer/security kind of guy -- it's what I do for a living.

A 'hacker' is not a bad person, but a person who likes to (as the article states) figure out how things work. The bad guys are called 'black hats' or 'crackers' because they like getting access to systems they are not authorized to use.

When I first heard about NextGen and it's implementation I was floored. We in the security world have been scratching our heads over it for a while.

I could not believe that they spec'd out a standard and spent billions on it without any sort of cryptographic signing of the messages. None. It would actually take a decent EE no time at all to spoof ADS-B messages. This is a failure of the FAA and the associated companies. I still can't believe they did it.

I would love to know *why* they didn't do it. The standards that would allow them to do it are open, published and incredibly secure. My assumption is that the messages aren't signed because of the procedures involved with maintaining a database of public keys or certs of each ADS-B transponder, etc. It would actually be quite trivial to implement an X.509 certificate chain from the FAA->Avionics Shop->Transponder so that other ADS-B transponders and the FAA would know that the message was valid. The plus side (from the FAA's perspective) would be that they could have the certificates expire automatically so they would know when transponders are out of certification.

And I guess on top of all that there's the problem of what to do if a spoofed message is detected in the first place. If a spoofed message says an aircraft is on a collision course with a known good aircraft -- does the controller just ignore the unauthenticated aircraft? Nope.

First, I'm a big computer programmer/security kind of guy -- it's what I do for a living.