What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Can't find any 'real' information...

s10sakota

Well Known Member
Ok, I hate to ask this, but....

I can't seem to find a real scientific answer. Does priming airframe parts with NAPA 7220 offer corrosion protection or can water (or moisture) soak through the cured primer?

There are 1,000 opinions on the net about this. Does anyone here have any scientific data to answer this question? Are there any chemists or scientist who can weigh in on this? I've done a lot of searching for this info and one guy will say "Oh yes definitely" and the next guy in the next post says "must be topcoated..." But no post I ever read said, "I am a chemical engineer who studies paints and primers and these are the facts..."

If it doesn't offer any corrosion protection, then I just wasted a lot of time and money priming the inside of the wings, tail, and fuselage with 7220 :eek:

Last edited:
Ok, I hate to ask this, but....

<snip>

If it doesn't offer any corrosion protection, then I just wasted a lot of time and money priming the inside of the wings, tail, and fuselage with 7220 :eek:

Why are you asking? If it is poor, but better than nothing, then what are you gonna do?

Why not just put corrosion inspection on your annual and take notes. After all, many, airplanes last several decades with no primers at all.