What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Grass Strips

SVTPete83

Well Known Member
With my wife finally getting her pilots license I wanted to get her a b day gift and set her up with Mike S up in Oregon for some transition training. We now have the dates all set and I am really stoked for her to learn from the best! That being said, we now need to fly our 9A into his grass strip for the training. I have zero grass strip experience and our plane has never touched grass either. To say I'm a little concerned would be accurate. We have a 9A with the antisplat mod as well as a berringer nose wheel. Our bird weighs in at a portly 1192 pounds and has a heavier nose due to the IO-360 in it. I'm confident in my soft field technique as that is how I land every time. Do I have anything to worry about here? What say the good folks in Vans Air Force?

From my very first instructor in 1967....

With my wife finally getting her pilots license I wanted to get her a b day gift and set her up with Mike S up in Oregon for some transition training. We now have the dates all set and I am really stoked for her to learn from the best! That being said, we now need to fly our 9A into his grass strip for the training. I have zero grass strip experience and our plane has never touched grass either. To say I'm a little concerned would be accurate. We have a 9A with the antisplat mod as well as a berringer nose wheel. Our bird weighs in at a portly 1192 pounds and has a heavier nose due to the IO-360 in it. I'm confident in my soft field technique as that is how I land every time. Do I have anything to worry about here? What say the good folks in Vans Air Force?

Do you know how to hold the nose wheel off the ground? If so, you should have no problems!

Any time you have enough speed to lift the nose wheel off the ground, it should NOT be on the ground. Simple!

NorthWest or SouthEast