What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

P-Mag vs. Light Speed

BonitaRV8

I haven't ordered my engine yet but will be doing so in about six months and I'm looking for input/direction on using P-mag or Light Speed plasma II or III. Anybody have any good preferences/arguments for or against either of the two? Currently I'm leaning towards the ECI 370 engine.

Thanks!

PMag issues

I'm just building my engine and had planned on going with A single PMag. I had designed the electrical system around it and had all but ordered it. During the past six months though, I've seen a rash of PMag failures discussed here, and only saw 1 Lightspeed issue discussed in the archive. That convinced me to buy a Lightspeed. Just one guys opinion though, no flying experience behind either one.

David

I've had both and am currently (for the last 1100hrs) flying behind Lightspeed.

I have been flying behind P-mags since 2005 and would not fit anything else. In that time there have been several versions - the latest (since 2007) is the Series 114, which seems to be much more reliable than previous versions.

To my mind the ease of installation, the low component count, the ability to be completely self contained (not relying on a battery once running) and the straight forward timing method are the significant issues. Brad & Tom are a pleasure to do business with, customer support is excellent.

Pete

P-mag's for me

I started with Slick mags, then LASAR (slick mags modified for electronic ignition), and for the last three years, Dual P-mags. IMHO the best way to go!

1) self contained and independent from Aircraft electrical system after start.
2) All eight plugs high energy firing under computer timing with .035 spark gap.
3) Compact, light, one moving part, mounts on Mag pads.
4) Incredibly easy to time and sync
5) Low cost NGK auto spark plugs (under $3.00 each.... no more cleaning plugs)