What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Hangaring when traveling - move own plane?

NM Doug

Well Known Member
I'm planning my first more-than-day-trip in my RV and found hangar space near my destination, thanks to a VAF reply to my post earlier this afternoon. The very friendly FBO employee on the phone said, "I talked to the [hangar guys], and they can fit you in."

Since I'm new to actually traveling somewhere (!), I'm curious what RVers generally do when being a guest in an FBO hangar: ask them if you could help/watch when they move the airplane? Trust them to take care of everything on their own?

I remember seeing something on VAF about this, but I can't find the relevant posts again, so feel free to direct me to those posts if that's easier than repeating everything...

Thanks,
Doug

Trip

Take your tow bar!

FBO's vary. Some let you do it. Others do it for you. I can't imagine anyone not letting you at least 'help' put your bird to bed. But later when you are not there, your bird may have to be moved to get others in and out, so I would leave your tow bar hooked up.

You might also take whatever you use for chocks since most FBO chocks are way big.

ok, since you've gotten so little response so far, other than Vern:

I almost never travel with the tow bar, and I don't expect a commercial operation other than myself to move my airplane except for ROSIE, another RV -A! driver, or someone that I've given permission to. No, really, we've been back and forth all over the country, and beyond, and I just simply let the ramp and FBO people know how much of my life I have poured into this "thing" and that I want to place it where ever they want it so that it doesn't need to be moved when I'm not there to move it. I've never had that fail so far. If it looks like the FBO simply can't accommodate such a request, I would rather tie down outside on a distant ramp (most of the time).