What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Build Light; Go Fast

StuBob

Well Known Member
Perusing this site while the primer dries, I find many admonishments to "build light." Was it Art Chard who said to "add lightness?" Sounds good to me. But where does this lightness come from? Since I'm just getting started, I have plenty of opportunity to add it everywhere from the rudder forward.

A related but separate issue is speed. I have a Bonanza. I REALLY want my RV to be a Bonanza killer. But some things remove lightness while adding speed.

So......

1)What are some concrete examples of how you've "built light" or seen it done? I can think of a handful: Minimize priming. Minimize interior/soundproofing. Maybe minimize avionics, but they don't weigh what they used to. I suspect a G3X weighs less than steam gauges with a vacuum pump and plumbing. Light prop (composite or wood). Parallel-valve engine. Polish, don't paint. Lightweight battery.

2)What are some concrete examples of how you've gotten a fast airplane, or known of others to get one? Maybe: More horsepower -- angle-valve 360, Rocket, etc. Constant speed prop. Build light!

But angle valve motors and constant speed props add more weight than you'll ever save by minimizing the interior.

So, tell me your experience with building light and flying fast!

I think my biggest mistake in this area was painting! The bottom of the wings, HS, and control surfaces should have had the very minimal paint. Just enough for corrosion protection. Full color saturation is not needed. No one ever looks at the bottom of the plane except me!

Did it!

Hey Stuart,

Search my posts. I spent a lot of time thinking about how to keep it light and fast. I posted most of my ideas in one spot. I ended up with a 975 lb RV8A that cruised 205mph at 10,500 on 160hp.

Lance