VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 06-04-2014, 12:03 PM
Boomer506 Boomer506 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Stanwood, WA
Posts: 145
Default Roll servo installation

I'm getting ready to close my wings and would like a picture of someone's roll servo installation, preferably on an RV8. I am leaning towards a Dynon autopilot but will likely fly for a couple years before I install. I'm a repeat offender with a previous RV6 completion.

Basically, I would like to know if I can close up the wing, and install the servo later without too much trouble. Or if I should decide between Garmin and Dynon, spend the $75 for the install kit now.

Thanks for your help out there.
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2014, 12:08 PM
Pat Hatch's Avatar
Pat Hatch Pat Hatch is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 889
Default

Sam, the Garmin roll servo is installed in the fuselage should you decide to go that way (RV-6). Wow, I just checked the -8, and the roll servo is in the wing, so disregard my previous statement! Sorry about that.

I will say that it definitely would be an easier to instal the servo mount kit in your wing now before closing it out. I previously had my roll servo in my wing (S-Tec) and converted to the Garmin autopilot with the roll servo in the fuse under the copilot's seat.
__________________
Pat Hatch
RV-4 (Gone to RV heaven)
RV-6 (N44PH - Flying)
RV-7 (Sold)
RV-8 (Builder & Avionics Installer)
www.phaviation.com Trim Relay Boards/Flap Actuators
www.pathatch.com/blog (Photography)
Track Me

Last edited by Pat Hatch : 06-04-2014 at 12:23 PM. Reason: Correction.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2014, 12:39 PM
humptybump humptybump is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Hatch View Post
I just checked the -8, and the roll servo is in the wing
If the Garmin servo has a similar mount to Trutrak or MGL, then the roll servo can go in the fuselage under the pilot seat.


photo is not of my aircraft (found using google search)

Last edited by humptybump : 06-04-2014 at 12:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2014, 01:53 PM
rotary57 rotary57 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: kmvi
Posts: 45
Default

My Garmin roll servo is under the front seat - this is a picture of the Trutrack servo before I swapped it for the Garmin. My aircraft was built in 2003, I don't know if anything has changed since then.

__________________
N678SR
RV-8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2014, 03:02 PM
wirejock's Avatar
wirejock wirejock is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Estes Park, CO
Posts: 4,371
Default Dynon

My Dynon AP roll servo goes in the wing. One of the two bell crank brackets is replaced with the Dynon bracket. It can be done through the access panel but if you have the skin off, it would be much easier. You have to disconnect the linkage, remove both bellcrank brackets and assemble the servo in the brackets then put it back in. Actually the instructions are written as if it were a finished wing. You can download them to review from Dynon.
I believe the GRT is also in the wing.
Remember the wiring harness has to be pulled in too. Leave a path or buy the wiring kit and pull it in now.
The roll trim servo is in the fuse I think. Not quite there yet.
__________________
Larry Larson
Estes Park, CO
http://wirejockrv7a.blogspot.com
wirejock at yahoo dot com
Donated 01/01/2021, plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved (2,000+ hours)
HS SB, empennage, tanks, wings, fuse, working finishing kit
Disclaimer
I cannot be, nor will I be, held responsible if you try to do the same things I do and it does not work and/or causes you loss, injury, or even death in the process.

Last edited by wirejock : 06-04-2014 at 03:09 PM. Reason: add text
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2014, 03:17 PM
SmilingJack's Avatar
SmilingJack SmilingJack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hilton Head Island
Posts: 1,105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by humptybump View Post
If the Garmin servo has a similar mount to Trutrak or MGL, then the roll servo can go in the fuselage under the pilot seat.


photo is not of my aircraft (found using google search)
Geez Bumtyhump! I thought for a minute I was your twin

That picture looked real familiar to me.....now I know why!
__________________
John Mastro
RV-8 (SOLD)
10 years of Awesomeness!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2014, 10:55 PM
Rodney Rodney is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 74
Default

I installed the Dynon roll and pitch trim with the AP74 control head recently. The aircraft had over 200 at installation. One of the easiest installs I have managed--particularly the roll servo. The Dynon mounting plate installs rather easily through the stock inspection panel. However, it would be easier installing the mounting plate before the wing is enclosed. Very easy to add the servo later if you choose to install the bracket during the build.

The two bolts that go through the leading edge spar are removed and the mounting bracket added. Installation after the build assumes you followed the Vans plans and used blind nuts during the install. Once the leading edge is on you will not have access to the front of the spar.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.