VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 08-02-2022, 05:30 PM
JoopSJ's Avatar
JoopSJ JoopSJ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 107
Default Garmin Aviation Database Manager Error

I have just purchased a Garmin Pilot Pak for my G3X/GTN.
Trying to download the databases the Database Manager shows the error "unrecoverable error"
There no way I can get the download software to work.
Tried two laptops.
Using windows 10.
Any suggestions.
(I have send an email .. response might take 3 days they say...
__________________
First flight on Nov 14th 2022
Last donation Dec 2022
Chairman NVAV (EAA chapter 664 - Dutch experimental aircrafts builders)
Member EAA
Member AOPA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2022, 08:37 PM
newt's Avatar
newt newt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 494
Default

Perhaps not directly applicable to you because you're running the Windows version, but I had a similar kind of issue last year on the Mac version which was resolved by clearing the download cache directory mentioned in the app's preferences.


- mark
__________________
[ Paid up on 8 Aug 2022 ]
RV-6 VH-SOL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2022, 09:30 AM
Auburntsts's Avatar
Auburntsts Auburntsts is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,204
Default

As a stop gap, you could possibly try downloading from FlyGarmin directly using the "older update method" vs the Garmin database Manager.

https://fly.garmin.com/fly-garmin/up...3&useSync=true
__________________
Todd "I drink and know things" Stovall
PP ASEL-IA
RV-10 N728TT - Flying!
WAR EAGLE!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2022, 11:07 AM
Mike_C Mike_C is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 30
Default

That Garmin Update Software is buggy. It refuses to run on my Dell laptop PC, I get a script error and I have tried many things to get it to run. However, it will run on my kid's all in one desktop PC. So if you have access to another PC try that (I know you said you tried 2 laptops). I also tried Garmin tech (email) support.

(I even tried wiping the HD on my laptop and reloading Windows 10 - so it is like new ) - Still would not run that Garmin Update Software
__________________
RV-10 @ GSO Airport - Future Bird
M20F @ GSO Airport - Current Bird

Empennage Received 5% Complete
Fuselage Received 0% Complete
Wings Received 0% Complete
Finishing kit MIA

(Many parts on backorder)

Last edited by Mike_C : 08-16-2022 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2022, 12:41 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,289
Default GADM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_C View Post
That Garmin Update Software is buggy. It refuses to run on my Dell laptop PC, I get a script error and I have tried many things to get it to run. However, it will run on my kid's all in one desktop PC. So if you have access to another PC try that (I know you said you tried 2 laptops). I also tried Garmin tech (email) support and it was 100% useless.

(I even tried wiping the HD on my laptop and reloading Windows 10 - so it is like new ) - Still would not run that Garmin Update Software
There are only a few requirements you would need to succesfully run the Garmin Aviation Database Manager:
  • Windows 10 or higher
  • Microsoft .NET 4 (included)
  • 1 GB RAM

Does you computer meet these?

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2022, 03:41 PM
JoopSJ's Avatar
JoopSJ JoopSJ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 107
Default

Thanks all for the replies.
Just received an answer from Garmin UK.
It seems in my profile there is no serial number entered for the G3X. That is why it failed.
Thanks again.
__________________
First flight on Nov 14th 2022
Last donation Dec 2022
Chairman NVAV (EAA chapter 664 - Dutch experimental aircrafts builders)
Member EAA
Member AOPA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-16-2022, 06:03 PM
Mike_C Mike_C is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
There are only a few requirements you would need to succesfully run the Garmin Aviation Database Manager:
  • Windows 10 or higher
  • Microsoft .NET 4 (included)
  • 1 GB RAM

Does you computer meet these?

Thanks,

Justin

Hello,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, the laptop meets all those requirements. It used to run the Jepp program fine, but it will not run the Garmin update software. No worries though I am able to update though another PC in the house. I emailed back and froth with Garmin tech support and the issue was never solved.

It gives me this following error below: (If you have any insight? - looks like a mess to me?)

Malformed Unlock: {"deviceID":301343,"unlockCode":null,"gma":null,"g ca":null} at Function.parse (C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\Garmin Aviation Database Manager\resources\app.asar\dist\out-tsc\electron\src\flyGarmin\model\unlock.js:34:19) at C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\Garmin Aviation Database Manager\resources\app.asar\dist\out-tsc\electron\src\flyGarmin\service\flygarmin-client.js:368:102 at Array.map (<anonymous>) at FlyGarminClient.getDeviceUnlocks (C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\Garmin Aviation Database Manager\resources\app.asar\dist\out-tsc\electron\src\flyGarmin\service\flygarmin-client.js:367:43) at FlyGarminClient.<anonymous> (C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\Garmin Aviation Database Manager\resources\app.asar\dist\out-tsc\electron\src\flyGarmin\service\flygarmin-client.js:307:44) at Generator.next (<anonymous>) at fulfilled (C:\Program Files (x86)\Garmin\Garmin Aviation Database Manager\resources\app.asar\node_modules\tslib\tsli b.js:114:62) at processTicksAndRejections (internal/process/task_queues.js:97:5)
__________________
RV-10 @ GSO Airport - Future Bird
M20F @ GSO Airport - Current Bird

Empennage Received 5% Complete
Fuselage Received 0% Complete
Wings Received 0% Complete
Finishing kit MIA

(Many parts on backorder)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-16-2022, 07:33 PM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 3,193
Default sometimes

Sometimes you must run the application as an administrator. Not sure in this case but thought I would throw it out there...
__________________
Bob
EAA Tech Counselor
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10-ER
N464RL
In Paint at Evoke!
Garmin G3X-T, Barrett EFII S32, CAI, MTV-9B

Dues+ Paid 2022,...Thanks DR+
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-03-2022, 11:04 PM
FlyPig FlyPig is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 16
Exclamation GADM Unrecoverable Errors

Well,

- my computer meets all requirements
- I've tried it on another computer
- I've run it as administrator
- I've tried using a blank, formatted SD card
- my GPS175 serial number is correct
- the "older update method" doesn't appear to be on flygarmin anymore

and the Aviation Database Manager still has numerous "Unrecoverable Errors" while "Obtaining Update Information from FlyGarmin..." as soon as the license agreement appears. If I keeping clicking OK and NO, I can eventually get to the "Insert SD Card" screen. While I can download updates to the computer, the each database says "Install Pending" with a spinning wheel while overall installation progress remains stuck on 50% all day...every day.

Does anybody have any other ideas or experience?

Thanks,
2010 RV-7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2022, 12:44 AM
ronrapp's Avatar
ronrapp ronrapp is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyPig View Post
Does anybody have any other ideas or experience?
I've had issues when using an external SD card reader (ie. something like this).

I eventually traced it to the fact that the card reader was not externally powered. I got one that had it's own dedicated power cord and have had better luck ever since.

Having said that, the Garmin Aviation Database Manager is not what I would describe as a high quality piece of software. Issues of the kind you're describing aren't exactly rare.

--Ron
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.