- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

Old 11-10-2017, 01:58 PM

Lightbulb -EXP Deconstructed

I was bored today, and since I fall under the AD that forces me to remove my Navworx -EXP, I spent a few hours on my back with my fuel selector buried in the small of my back (RV6). Here is what came of it:

Remove the EXP

I can't ever resist the urge to tear apart a piece of worthless junk if it has screws in it:

Here is the offensive little piece of silicon (GPS) that we have all heard so much about:

Really? Void my warranty? Ha!

Ah Ha!

That's all for now. If anyone has any ideas on what comes next, let me know. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I do know how to read a cut-sheet. And I'm relentless

Don

Last edited by dtw_rv6 : 11-10-2017 at 02:27 PM.
Old 11-10-2017, 03:24 PM

Default Next?

A bandsaw could turn it into a nice pair of wheel chocks for your hangar.
Old 11-10-2017, 03:31 PM

Would be nice to see some hi-res shots of the markings on all of the chips, especially those on both sides of any daughter/mezzanine boards that are screwed onto the main board.

I suppose it's too much to hope for that NW might have used a GPS module with an NMEA interface to the rest of the works that would possibly allow splicing in some other source. Just idle speculating on a dreary Friday afternoon.

Omaha, NE
RV-12 # 222 N980KM "Screamin' Canary" (bought flying)
Fisher Celebrity (under construction)
Previous RV-7 project (sold)
Old 11-10-2017, 04:11 PM

Its a consumer grade Sirf IV according to the AD. Its the only chip on the board that doesnt have any sign of identification. Looks like the Sirf supports NMEA... i just have to figure out which pin is the RX and TX.

The bandsaw idea is good. I think it might work better as a Tannerite holder though.

The chip has 6 pins per side... i just started looking at digikey for clues.

Last edited by dtw_rv6 : 11-10-2017 at 04:58 PM.
Old 11-10-2017, 10:39 PM