What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Master cyl rebuild

Mr Charles

Well Known Member
I have a 4 with a cleveland 10-30 master cyl. that seems to be bypassing. It will not pump up at all. I see a rebuild kit in vans and assume this is what I need. Any tips on rebuilding and bleeding?

I am no expert but I googled the cylinder and got the parts info. Ordered the O-rings and replaced them.

I repaired my -10 brakes with the Vans kit and it started leaking again after three months.

Buying the individual MS O-rings cost less than the kit.

If you have leaks, be sure to INSPECT all the parts closely. I have seen aluminum rubbing the steel piston rod leave a build up making the unit hard to seal thus it leaks in short order. If you are getting leaks, also check to make sure that the master cylinders are not mounted in a bind causing side loads and leaks.

master cyl rebuild

Thanks all for the replies.
The cylinder is NOT leaking...out anyway. After 3 weeks non-flying, I got in and the "pedal went to the floor." I inspected whole system for leaks, then with an IA friend, we pumped fluid through bleeder with a "modified oil can" quasi pressure bleed. Pumped, pumped and pumped, refilled "oil can," and repeated 5-6 times. Tried gravity bleeding, pump/hold and crack, and fed from the bleeder until we had run 1/2 gallon (it seems) of fluid back out the reservoir. Still no pedal firmness or ability to pump up. But no leaks...is it possible for the master to internally bypass, hence no pressure, yet not leak? Is this common? Will new O'rings fix this?
Thanks for your time.
Charles

Same problem...

Charles, I am having the same issue with my Cleveland master cylinders. I have ordered the rebuild kits, should have them today or tomorrow. I'll let you know the results!

Upside down!

Gents,