What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Re ringing old cylinders

[email protected]

Well Known Member
OK, I have a question for you aviation gear heads. I've been a mechanic for 55 years on cars and have done this process on them.
My hangered RV-6A I bought flying 180 hours ago has a question.
My 460 hour channel chrome cylinder 8.5-1 comp 0-360 with SDS ignition and fuel injection. Burning a quart in 5 hours of Areo Shell 20x50.
Operated at 2200 RPM and 26" @ MFP 4500 feet on Costco premium fuel
Compressions are good and borescope shows very minimal vertical scratching in cylinders. No crosshatching as is normal in Channel chrome cylinders.
Run the motor an hour, pull plugs, look in cylinders and see slight oil puddling in bottom.
Just for the giggles I ran it for 40 hours using Phillips 15x40 mineral oil and no difference.
Oil changes with Blackstone analysis every 30 hours, All good, But oil gets pretty dark after 4-6 hours.
I did the Mike Busch fluid flush, 1,3,4,all flushed expectably, But #2 wouldn't flush at all first time, Ran for 6 hours and then it would flush at about 30 percent.

::So on to my question::
Does anybody have any idea as to just pulling cylinders and installing new rings to see it that will help with oil consumption and blowby. I understand you can't rehone channel chrome.
I have an Anti-splat oil separator installed and belly is relatively clean.

Not a big job or very expensive the way I see it if it would help. Rings, through bolts/nuts, gaskets and seals,
Seems like it might be worth a try.
Anybody thinks it might be worth a try?????
Thanks Art

I have channel chrome cylinders and see the same exact thing you do. Oil in cylinders, 5-8 hrs per qt, gets dirty quickly, etc. I've got about 650hrs on mine.

From what I read, sometimes removing cylinders just creates new problems. I would opt to just leave it. Oil is cheap!

It's fine, leave it be.