What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking at an RV-4 tomorrow. (2/5/2022) Gut check me?

robblr

My first post here, though I've been a consumer of VAF for some time. My thanks to all who've shared their wisdom.

I'm a 400+ hour private pilot, about 50 hours in tailwheel, mostly Cubs. Currently own a Cherokee 160 I'm using through Instrument and Commercial. I also hold seaplane and glider ratings. I won't attempt to fly any Vans without transition training first.

I've got it in my head that I need an RV-4. I've flown a 7 and loved it, but the 4 fits my mission and budget much better. An 8 would be great, but I can think of better uses for that extra $100k right now. I recently got a hangar at my airport after years of waiting, and now I need to fill it. The time seems right, current market aside. I've been watching the classifieds, Barnstormers and Trade-a-Plane for the last few months. I was quick on the draw to email the owner of a 180HP RV-4 in PA a few weeks ago the second his ad went live, and we've scheduled time for me to fly up tomorrow morning and take a look.

Panel is nothing special. APpears to be basic engine and IFR instruments with a D10a, maybe an autopilot.

Asking price is $75k which, to me, looks like a $45k airplane plus a $30k engine. I have no idea if this is a fair price or not. I don't think I want to pay $75k for an airplane which will almost certainly depreciate as I put time on it. The only other 4's I've seen come up for sale the last six months either sell quick with high time engines priced around $45k, or sit unsold for months with engines at or past TBO for $67k. Two years ago a mid-time 4 would set you back a buck and you'd have change leftover. Strange times are these.

A few things stand out to me: