What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

GNC 300

crewdog434

Anybody out there using the Garmin GNC 300 GPS/Com for IFR use? I'm interested in light IFR flying and would like to use an appraoch-approved GPS. I love the Garmin handheld, but can't fly GPS appraoches with it, legally. Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated. I'm going to couple a Dynon D-100 with a Garmin SL-30 to take advantage of the HSI for VOR/LOC?ILS approaches.

Jerry C.

I have one, and am pretty pleased with it. Though, currently I am only an instrument student. It would be -nice- to have a larger, color screen but for 2/3 the price of a Garmin 430, you can have the GNC 300 and a 396.

I've never experienced any problems with its operation.

I flew a 300 for a few years in a Cardinal and thought it was an excellent IFR GPS/COM. An awful lot of capability for a small price.

Jerry,

I also plan on using a GNC 300XL Garmin GPS/COM. I think that this is the biggest bang for your buck when used with a SL30. With these two units you get two independent COMs and two independent navigational units. Also, I recommend that you call Todd or Greg at GRT avionics. They have a new EFIS that has recently been introduced called the "sport" version.

I'm just doing my IFR ground school, but I always thought that it would be good to have text-based nav heads like the GNC300 and SL30 and couple those to a MX20 / GMX 200 type moving map with a much larger display that can use NAV data from multiple sources (i.e., MX20 will show GPS position and also draw your current VOR radial, etc.) The MX20 also can be quickly flipped from sectional to en-route IFR to approach plate as the background.

GNC 300XL