VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 08-14-2018, 01:29 PM
dmat dmat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Union County, NJ
Posts: 1,043
Default Old School Hobbs with Glass?

converting to all glass and wanted to know what folks are doing to replace the hobbs? I know g3x has one setup in there but wanted to see if anyone is using the old hobbs meter as well?

Can anyone tell Im having a tough time letting go of the old stuff

D
__________________
RV6A: N6389-->N456RJ - Avionics Upgrade & Restoration COMPLETE & Flying

WTB RV4/8?- Looking for a 4 or 8 that needs some love and TLC. PM me if you have one!

Donations Paid- Thank you VAF!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2018, 01:47 PM
rvsxer rvsxer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Inver Grove Hgts, MN
Posts: 354
Default

If you have room there's no problem with installing a Hobbs meter in a glass panel. We are asked to put one in a fair number of panels we build here at SteinAir.
__________________
Mike Hilger
RV-6 N207AM w/G3X, 1,800 hours +
South St. Paul, MN (KSGS)
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor

We're all here because we're not all there...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2018, 01:51 PM
erich weaver's Avatar
erich weaver erich weaver is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa barbara, CA
Posts: 1,710
Default

Put a Hobbs in if you wish, but there is no need for it. The EFIS already covers this function
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2018, 01:53 PM
Dan Langhout's Avatar
Dan Langhout Dan Langhout is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 571
Default Both

Have a traditional Hobbs installed along with my Dynon Skyview which has it's own Hobbs function. Belt and suspenders I guess.
__________________
Dan Langhout
2021 =VAF= Dues PAID . . . . .
RV-7 N528DP slow build
First Flight July 26th, 2014
740 hours and counting . . . .
Now based at Moontown (3M5)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2018, 03:06 PM
RV6_flyer's Avatar
RV6_flyer RV6_flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NC25
Posts: 3,630
Default

Converting to a glass panel on an existing flying airplane, I may keep the Hobbs if I already had it. I would not add the Hobbs on a new airplane glass panel where I had to spend money to go buy it.
__________________
Gary A. Sobek
NC25 RV-6
Flying
3,400+ hours
Where is N157GS
Building RV-8 S/N: 80012

To most people, the sky is the limit.
To those who love aviation, the sky is home.

Last edited by RV6_flyer : 08-14-2018 at 03:07 PM. Reason: add word flying
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2018, 03:06 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,358
Default my Plan

My plan is to put an old fashion hobbs in with my garmin panel. Just so I know if my kids "borrowed" my plane. I think it would be nice to have the hours always displayed, even with the panel off. Now making the two match? that will be the hard part.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
Tail 98% done
Wings 98% done
Fuselage Kit 98% done
Finishing Kit 35% canopy done for now
Electrical 65% in work
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2018, 03:17 PM
noelf noelf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cary, N.C.
Posts: 1,238
Default

When I built my -6A, I put a Hobbs in the sub panel and the Advanced engine monitor with its glass display Hobbs is front and center. At the time, I was not sure how reliable all the glass was going to be so I wanted a little bit of an alternate path. Turns out there have been no issues at all with the glass.

I will say it is convent to look at the "electro mechanical" Hobbs without having to turn on the Master.
__________________
Noel
RV-6A N6NF
tip-up
flying
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2018, 05:28 PM
Robert Anglin Robert Anglin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 900
Default Yes we do.

Yes we did it for a number of reasons. We like to be able to check the actual engine run time for the most part. The Hobbs is what we use to tell us when to change the engine oil. We have a Garmin G3X touch panel, but I find that the Hobbs meter is not affected or tide to anything in the PFD or panel. It is on a it's own individual power supply and regardless of anything it will tell us quicker and more reliably when the engine has oil pressure, so it is also an oil pressure gage back-up. If you have a good Hobbs, just look at the far right side of the readings and you will see a little black and white wheel. That wheel will start ticking and turning as soon as there is more that just a few pounds of pressure in the oil passages. I also use it to log my flight time, just like in the old trainers you flew. I wright the Hobbs time before engine start on my knee pad along with fuel levels and weight and then after engine shut-down I mark the time again. I know what the FAR's say, but this is an old and still accepted practice. I do look at the EFIS, Hobbs time and flight time every now and then, but they are more of a distraction than a need to thing. Sure I would do it the same in anything we own. Just the way we do ours. Hope this helps. Yours, R.E.A. III # 80888

P.S. It is on a kick panel down on the right side next to the ELT remote so we don't forget that thing as well. You don't have to put it on the panel in front of you.

Last edited by Robert Anglin : 08-14-2018 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2018, 05:40 PM
hgerhardt's Avatar
hgerhardt hgerhardt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: torrance, ca
Posts: 704
Default

I updated my panel 200 hours ago and left the old Hobbs meter in place (needed something to fill the hole). Originally had a fancy relay that only ran the Hobbs when oil pressure was there, but now runs whenever the Master is on. After all this time, the Hobbs only reads about 1 hour more than the G3X shows.

And it is convenient to see it when the EFIS is off.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2018, 06:07 PM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,446
Default

I have both and I think it's a benefit in case the settings in the Skyview are erased or reset somehow. My Hobbs is connected to my alternator field switch so it's dead on with the hours shown on the Skyview
__________________
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Dynon Skyview HDX, Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Whirlwind 200RV CS Prop
First Flight 11/20/2016
https://www.marksrv8.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.