VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 08-16-2020, 12:10 PM
Greg Arehart's Avatar
Greg Arehart Greg Arehart is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delta, CO/Atlin, BC
Posts: 2,421
Default Garmin 495 no satellites

Yes, I know it's old. My 495 suddenly started giving me a "poor satellite reception" message. Has been working reliably for years. Checked antenna by putting a different one on it, so not likely the antenna (unless it's internal connections). Seems to have plenty of power (plugged into ground power). I'm testing outside with no obstructions, in fact just went for a local flight for an hour and my ipad was getting satellite locations fine, so not a planned data brownout by the military. The date indicator on the satellite page is showing several days old and the wrong time, although the clock is ticking over.

Can't seem to find anything on the internet so thought I would try here. If that doesn't work, will try calling Garmin tomorrow.

Thanks for any info.

Greg
__________________
Greg Arehart
RV-9B (Big tires) Tipup @AJZ or CYSQ
N 7965A
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2020, 12:26 PM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 849
Default

My 396 has an internal battery that has something to do with the initial satellite lock in. In most cases this battery is a solder in replacement so not the easiest for user to replace. I have read several threads here on VAF about the failure method of this battery. Been expecting mine to do this one day shortly. There are several people on here who have the experience replacing this battery.
__________________
DRRhodes
2020 VAF Supporter
RV9 N908DR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2020, 12:55 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,540
Default

I’m guessing the internal knee-alive memory battery as well - sounds to me like the unit has lost its ephemerides, and that means it has to start with no knowledge of where the satellites are, or where it is - so it has to start from scratch, and that is a little bit of a needle/haystack problem.

There used to be threads around on forums that tell you how to change the battery - it does involve a soldering iron.....
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2020, 05:34 PM
Greg Arehart's Avatar
Greg Arehart Greg Arehart is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delta, CO/Atlin, BC
Posts: 2,421
Default

I'm presuming, then, that the keep-alive battery is different from the backup battery, which just pops out of the back of the unit? I'll have a search through the archives etc. and see what I can come up with.

Thanks,
Greg
__________________
Greg Arehart
RV-9B (Big tires) Tipup @AJZ or CYSQ
N 7965A
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.