What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Intro and looking for builders/RVs in NC.

rchrds

Well, I've had the bug for a while. I've been to the factory. (Lived an hour north of it actually.) But every time I visit, the RV-9s are out doing something else, so I've not flown one yet. And now, I've bought the little airfoil assembly training kit to see if I can figure it all out.

Some history: I'm an army helicopter pilot, 24 years in service, working as a standardization instructor pilot in an OH-58D unit. 2700 hours of turbine helicopter time and 120 hours of ASEL time. As far as the FAA is concerned, I hold a helicopter CFII, and commercial instrument ASEL.

My wife loves flying VFR on top (for some reason), and I do all my own equipment and vehicle repair. I've done a good bit of manual machining, but have zero experience with sheet metal.

If anyone in eastern NC is building (or has built) an RV-9a, or frankly any other RV, and is interested in a hanger-on/spare rivet pulling/deburring hand, I would be very interested in coming out to see some of the process and learn more.

Thanks for the help!

Jason

Welcome

Welcome Jason and thank you for your service.
If you can do all that, building an RV is no problem. Lots of brain power on VAF. Always ask.

There is an EAA chapter in Charthage (pick-n-pig on the field). I do not know if anyone there is building a 9. There is at least one RV-9 under construction at EAA chapter 1114 in Apex N.C.
Another -9A builder is relocating his flying plane from Texas to Sanford (KTTA) any time now and wants to to sell his still under construction -6A that is still in Tx.

There are about a half dozen or so RV's at Sanford, but no -9s. Hope that helps...

get with Stroh21...

...on here, as he's also at Bragg/Pope and is considering a build/buy.
I'm in Lancaster, SC, where we have a -4, a -7, an 8, an 8a and a 12, but no 9.