What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-3 Cover - Storing Outside

Derek343

I'm about to go pickup my new RV I purchased, but I don't have a hangar to store it yet. I plan on storing it on a tie down until a sunshade opens up. Then sunshade until a hangar opens up.

I understand the big thing is making sure the avionics don't get wet. So, a canopy cover is required. I found a company that offers that.
https://www.aircraftcovers.com/RV3

They make whole aircraft covers, but that seems a bit overkill. Anyone have suggestions on that? My first RV and first time without a hangar.

Thanks!

I've been using Van's lightweight canopy cover for the past 3 years. Seems to work well. I think they have one for a 3

Thanks! I wouldn't have ever consider the possibility of the cover clouding the canopy. That makes sense!

I checked out the link - there is a lot more things like control surface locks, etc.

Bruce's Custom Covers

These may be a little pricey, but worth every penny. They are high-quality, and the people are great to work with. When I was in the LSA business, we didn't go anywhere overnight without one. Our airplane's doors were lightweight and notoriously leaky, but these covers kept the interiors dry. If I remember correctly, they do require a re-application of water repellent after a while if kept outside. The outside is a tough canvas material, but the liner is very soft, so it won't scratch your canopy. We tried various types of lighter-weight "sunbrellas" and other covers over the years, but none of them kept water out and most of them shifted around in the wind. Our Bruce's cover stayed put even when our plane flipped over in the SNF tornado.

https://www.aircraftcovers.com/

Katie