VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:45 PM
Derek343 Derek343 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Shreveport la
Posts: 31
Default Replace Garmin 496 in RV-3


This is the setup on my RV-3. It has an old Garmin 496. I was wondering if anyone had a suggestion for upgrading the GPS. Or making the best out of the panel. I was thinking about adding a couple Dynon servos for when I go on a cross country.

Last edited by Derek343 : 09-15-2020 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2020, 07:21 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,988
Default

Hello,

A great replacement for the 496 would be the current 5" portable solution, the Aera 660. This would fit in the same panel space as the 496, however you would need to change the AirGizmos mount for one that will fit the 660, as the mounts themselves are not interchangeable.

The Aera 660 serves as a great little multifunction/navigation display. When paired with a compatible datalink receiver like the GDL 50, it will display ADSB-In traffic and weather along with all of the mapping and flight navigation/planning features. The Aera 660 will also output airport frequencies to a Garmin COM radio, as well as navigation (lateral) data for driving an autopilot.

If you'd like to check out a webinar that will include portable solutions like the Aera 660, feel free to join the Garmin Portable Solutions Webinar taking place tomorrow (9/17).

BR,

Brad
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2020, 08:28 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,539
Default

I’ve been flying with Garmin portables since I bought my original 296, and have now had the 660 for a couple of years in my -8. Gotta say, it is a lot of bang for the buck in a small package. On a -3 panel, where you have your 496, it would be a nice fit. Ours talks to the GTX 345 transponder fo ADS-B info, and does a great job.

I sometimes wonder if, with the proliferation of iPad aviation apps, portables still have a place - in tiny cockpits (I have two of them), I am quite confident that they do!

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2020, 09:36 AM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,389
Default

Search this forum. I currently use a 496 and have it connected to my autopilot. I also own an Aera 560 with its Gizmo mount and every time I think I want to replace the 496 with the 560 I do the search and I remind myself of why I don't do it. Like I mentioned I have both Gizmo mounts so it would take 30 minutes to replace it, but I haven't.

I think the biggest reason I can remember reading about is the 496 is easier to manipulate in flight thanks to the buttons while the 560 with the touch screen can get touchy when you're bouncing around. Do the search before you spend the money and if in the end you still want to change it let me know, I might sell you my 560 with the Gizmo mount and it'll fit perfectly in the 496 Gizmo hole.
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 N52VM however I'm still trying to enjoy life by creating an airport with FREE campsites for pilots to come visit www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ WHILE WAITING FOR THE HIGH WING RV15 !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2020, 09:46 AM
rocketbob's Avatar
rocketbob rocketbob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8I3
Posts: 3,671
Default

I have installed Aera 660's and they are nice and fast and touchscreen. But they do the same thing as the 496. I have a 496 in most of my airplanes and they will stay put because they just work.
__________________

Please don't PM me! Email only!

Bob Japundza CFI A&PIA
N9187P PA-24-260B Comanche, flying
N678X F1 Rocket, under const.
N244BJ RV-6 "victim of SNF tornado" 1200+ hrs, rebuilding
N8155F C150 flying
N7925P PA-24-250 Comanche, restoring
Not a thing I own is stock.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2020, 12:32 PM
springer springer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AZ/MN
Posts: 389
Default

I love my iFly 740. Another one to consider.
__________________
Jim
RV-4 '88-'09 Built & Sold
RV-8 Purchased
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2020, 04:19 PM
sf3543 sf3543 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,071
Default

The major difference to me between the two is that the 660 is supported, has a larger viewing screen, is in color and brighter.
I changed out several and the new gizmo mount fit in the same hole and used the same screw holes. Wiring is as basic as the 496.
__________________
Steve Formhals
A&P, Tech Counselor & Flight Advisor
RV3B
RV8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2020, 07:15 AM
Derek343 Derek343 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Shreveport la
Posts: 31
Default

Awesome! Thanks for the advice! I will research those suggestions and let you know if I have any questions.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2020, 09:04 AM
sailvi767 sailvi767 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 1,285
Default

Nobody has mentioned the 696. I loved mine and it provides great functionality with reasonable screen size. It also uses buttons!
__________________
RV-6 sold
F-1 Rocket
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2020, 09:59 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailvi767 View Post
Nobody has mentioned the 696. I loved mine and it provides great functionality with reasonable screen size. It also uses buttons!
Well I still love my 696....but not in an RV-3! Might as well have an iPad mini strapped to your leg.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.