VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 07-01-2022, 10:43 AM
rockitdoc's Avatar
rockitdoc rockitdoc is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Fort COllins, CO
Posts: 496
Default How far to Carry Shielded wires

I have AeroLEDs strobes in my wingtips. They recommended shielding the wires from the wingtip to the wing root, which I did. But, I ran the shielded wires in the wing to the connector at the wing root/fuse supplied with the Van's harness. I am not sure the wires from the wing root to the panel in the Van's harness are shielded. Will this be a problem? I ask because the wires in the harness from Van's to the strobe were not shielded. So, are the shielded wires I installed just overkill or do they actually have to be shielded all the way to the panel?

Also, there is an electronic filter in the left wing to protect the ADAHRS kit from strobe interference. Was this included because of the lack of shielding in the Van's strobe harness? If so, do I need it since my strobe wiring is shielded?

Lot of questions, I know, but this is an area I am most uncomfortable with.
__________________
14A
Begun 07-23-20
Emp Completed 11-12-20
Slo Fuse Completed 3-2-21
Wiring and Avionics Begun 3-3-21
QB Wings Begun 3-1-22
Finish Kit and FWF work in progress
2022 Dues Paid
Reserved: N52XL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2022, 11:09 AM
rockitdoc's Avatar
rockitdoc rockitdoc is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Fort COllins, CO
Posts: 496
Default Question Answered

Upon review of the plans, it appears the three wires from the strobes are shielded at the wing root/fuse back to the panel, so question has been answered, I hope. Although, this begs the question: why are these wires not shielded from the wing root to the strobes?
__________________
14A
Begun 07-23-20
Emp Completed 11-12-20
Slo Fuse Completed 3-2-21
Wiring and Avionics Begun 3-3-21
QB Wings Begun 3-1-22
Finish Kit and FWF work in progress
2022 Dues Paid
Reserved: N52XL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2022, 11:13 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 3,741
Default

You have identified example of the "one size fits all" Van's wiring kits.

The AeroLED nav/strobes provide little to no RFI if installed correctly. The easiest way to do this is use of a three #20 conductor shielded wire from the nav/strobe to the power switch. I'd just run the wire and not use the clunky wing root molex connectors that come with the RV-14 kit.

The wire connectors are:
- Nav power
- Strobe power
- Strobe sync
- Common ground provided by the shield

I took the extra step to add a backing plate under the nav/strobe. The nav/strobe ground is made as short as possible and connects to it, along with the power cable shield, using one of the three mounting screws. This was a fix done on an older version of these nav/strobes - probably not needed now, but easy to do and I don't want to change when something works. The objective is to provide ground to the nav/strobe case when not mounted on aluminum - like an RV wingtip.

Photo is from 2011, before FlyLed landing lights installed.

Wired two RVs like this, all quiet in the headset.

Side note - use of filters to eliminate RFI problems is the last resort, not the first.

Carl
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.