What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

fuel sender

rwarre

Well Known Member
Replacing fuel senders in my rv7a but since I don't have a clue what fuel leaks with these sensors looks like, I would like some help to figure out where the fuel was coming from. I didn't use pro seal, just the rubber gasket the sensors came with(Stuwart Warner). The inside of the sender is clean so the only thing I can think of is that the fuel seeps through the threads on the screws. I have pictures but need help posting. Sorry that I am not technically literate.

Look for dark or blue stains around the edge or screw heads.

You could seal the screws by dabbing some proseal (or other proven sealant) under the heads before tightening them down.

using the rubber gasket just about guarantees leaks. Proseal with star washers between the plate and rib to give a gasket effect in the pro seal seems to work the best. I never use the rubber gaskets on the RV tanks.
It should be obvious where the leaks are.. If you use the rubber gaskets it will likely indicate seepage around the edges of the sending unit.

JIm Frisbie
RV 9A (950 hrs)
RV 10 under const.

Found some special screws at McMaster-Carr that have a sealing ring under the head of the screw. Have solved the seepage issue on my RV6, and a couple others as well.

Sad to say that the gasket provided with the fuel senders is not fuel proof, so throw it away. There is a Van's SB about it.
Proseal must be used to achieve an adequate seal. Don't tighten down on the screws and squeeze out all the proseal, leave them just a little slack until the pro-seal cures and then tighten. It is easiest to replace the senders with the tank off the aircraft in a cradle.
Pete