VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-14-2021, 01:13 PM
jamcgee1978 jamcgee1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 67
Default Wiring in the wings

So I’ve just pulled my wiring thru on the right wing :

Dynon roll servo harness

1 shielded 22awg & 2 x 18awg unshielded for the works flyleds lighting

An extra 18awg cable and extra string for future proof



Does this sound ok?
__________________
________________________
James
Prestwick, Scotland

RV10
Training kit complete
Emp complete
Wings 90%
Dues paid gladly paid 2020-21
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2021, 01:35 PM
GeoffP's Avatar
GeoffP GeoffP is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 181
Default

Doesn't the Flyleds works kit use a 4 core shielded cable for Nav / Strobes? Also if you want separate Taxi lights you need an extra 18AWG for that (unless that's one of your 2x 18AWG wires & you're grounding locally).
__________________
RV-9, Empennage and Wings about done, Fuselage started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2021, 01:35 PM
AlpineYoda AlpineYoda is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 238
Default

Cable for autopilot servo?

Pitot heat and stall on left wing?
__________________
RV-10 build blog -- https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blproject&proj=7ZSwfzr2g
Started 12/19/2019
Engine hung 1/9/2021
Panel in 2Q 2021
Flying summer 2021?
Going for the build speed record. Thanks lockdowns!

N1814T reserved with FAA
Donated Jan 11 for 2021, EAA and AOPA member
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2021, 06:32 PM
DRMA DRMA is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 450
Default

I'm not sure where Dynon puts these things, but on my Garmin equipped RV-10, I also have the OAT probe and magnetometer located in the wings, and those need wires. And if you install the aileron trim, you need wires for it as well.

Regards,
__________________
Dave Macdonald

RV-10 First Flight April 1, 2020. Phase 1 Complete
2021 VAF Dues Paid (plus a little more)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2021, 02:51 AM
jamcgee1978 jamcgee1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 67
Default

Yup this is only the right wing so far guys,

in the left I’m installing the dynon heated AOA, Aileron trim and will be running the wires for that next week.

So in the RIGHT wing only:

—The position and strobe circuits only need 3 wire 22AWG shielded wire.

—landing lights need standard (unshielded) 18 AWG wire.

—A single spotlight will be wired as a taxi light, so one more 20AWG for that.

— Cable harness for the Dynon autopilot roll servo

And I’ve left string to pull through any extra and 1 x extra 18awg cable for future
__________________
________________________
James
Prestwick, Scotland

RV10
Training kit complete
Emp complete
Wings 90%
Dues paid gladly paid 2020-21
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2021, 06:53 AM
Moshonsk Moshonsk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 7
Default

I also installed my magnetometer in the right wing to keep it away from the pitot heat wiring in the left wing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2021, 07:28 AM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 339
Default

In my current little avionics rodeo (new ADAHRS in tail of my 10 year old -9A), I found that if the builder had the foresight to run conduit in the wings, it is subsequently a relatively simple process later to run additional or new wiring and/or tubing to the cockpit in that conduit by accessing it at the wingtip or any of the three inspection panels. I used a fiberglass rod wire tool to run both OAT wiring and AOA tubing. Leaving a string or tyvek tape could be helpful too, but other than having to remove the upper part of the wing fairing to access the root where the tubing jumps the gap between wing and fuselage, the $6 11-foot fiberglass wire tool was pretty easy. IMHO...moral of the story is that having readily accessible conduit in the wings is someday going to be a huge help to whoever owns the plane at the time. And I appreciate that the builder used the nylon flexible conduit, which leaves a lot more room inside than the usual PEX ("sharkbite") tubing that some builders use.

Last edited by MacCool : 01-15-2021 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2021, 06:07 PM
JBarsness JBarsness is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Suburban Minneapolis
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRMA View Post
... I also have the OAT probe and magnetometer located in the wings, and those need wires.
I'm a VERY new guy when it comes to planning wiring (finishing up my elevators now) but I was curious... Where do you have the OAT probe mounted on your wings? Amongst the ribs inside the wing or does the probe extend externally?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2021, 06:29 PM
bjdecker's Avatar
bjdecker bjdecker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBarsness View Post
I'm a VERY new guy when it comes to planning wiring (finishing up my elevators now) but I was curious... Where do you have the OAT probe mounted on your wings? Amongst the ribs inside the wing or does the probe extend externally?

Thanks!
The OAT probe needs to be in fresh air, not exposed to hot exhaust gases, cowl exit air, or sunlight.

Find a spot near an access panel, and drill the requisite hole size for the probe you have.
__________________
Brian Decker
Retired Firmware Guy and Airplane Builder

2020 RV-14 QB -- Under construction - Tailcone & Empennage Complete.
2018 RV-7 QB -- Built, Flying
2007 RV-7 QB -- Built, Drowned, Resurrected and flying
1998 RV-8 QB -- Started, Sold
1986 Mooney 205SE
1980 Mooney 231

Aided and abetted building a number of other RV's.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2021, 06:36 PM
MacCool's Avatar
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBarsness View Post
I'm a VERY new guy when it comes to planning wiring (finishing up my elevators now) but I was curious... Where do you have the OAT probe mounted on your wings? Amongst the ribs inside the wing or does the probe extend externally?

Thanks!
I agree..underside of wing. I mounted mine on the middle access panel. It's a two-wire sensor...I it put on a Molex connector so that I can unplug the sensor/panel during condition inspection and the it doesn't just dangle.

I know that some people prefer mounting it on the fuselage under the horizontal stab.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.