What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Trim Tab Servo

StressedOut

Well Known Member
I've installed my trim tab server in the LH elevator, but when I hook it up to the push rod it's deflected about 20 degrees down. I'd like to neutralize its position, but gently trying to turn the actuator screw poking out the back doesn't work and I don't want to force it.

I read about using a 9 volt battery to power up the servo and move the tab, but I have no idea which wires I should connect to in order to do this.

My choices are green, orange, blue and two white wires. I have no idea what functions these wires have so I don't want to randomly connect them to the battery in a process of elimination for fear of damaging the servo.

Can anybody enlighten me as to the functions of each of these wires? I'm a total novice when it comes to electrical work.

Thanks.

UPDATE: I found the instructions that came with the servo. It looks like the green, orange and blue wires go to an indicator, so the white wires should actuate the servo. I assume swapping the white wires on the + and - terminal of the 9 volt battery would run the motor in opposite directions. Can someone confirm?

Last edited:
Pretty sure it's the two white. Sure enough that if it was mine I'd go for it. If it moves the wrong way reverse the connections on the battery. The other wires are for sensing the position for your position indicator. If you don't have the instructions that came with servo then just google it and I'm sure it will come up under Ray Allen.

It’s exactly as you said. Do yourself a favor and once you hook up the battery and watch, label the correct white wire ‘+ moves tab up, nose down’. You’ll be thankful when you do the final wiring. One DAR here has said that he finds nearly 50% of them running backwards.