What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

D-180 Fuel Quantity

bobg56

Well Known Member
You guys out there with the D-180's, when the 19.8 gal. fuel tank is full does your D-180 show it at 16 gal. ? I have reviewed my settings and it is on 19.8 as full capacity, I have done the mod where I have removed the sight glass and installed the mechanical gage. BTW the gage shows full at around 16 gal. also. I have been flying this plane for almost 2 years and just accepted that 16 would be maximum until it burns off below that then its actually very accurate from then on. Just wondering if this is a common thing with a D-180 system.

RV12 fuel indication

That?s exactly how full fuel is indicated on my 12. I was not the builder so I don?t know why but when I bought it that was explained to me. As you reported, very accurate after you burn off the 3-4 gals not indicated

Yes, it is normal.
The reason is that with the tank shaped as it is, some of the fuel in the tank when it is full is above the float when the sender is in the full position. This causes the fuel level indication to not change until the level is burned down to where the float begins to move downward.
This is normal for all RV models to some degree.

It is not a problem because the fuel level indication is very accurate from 16 gal down to zero.

16? Our float maxes out at 14 gallons. It is, as you said, quite accurate from 14 down to fumes.

Yep, what they said. My RV 9 float tops out at about 16 gal but when tank is filled it holds 18. But very accurate as burn allows fuel to get below the limited 16 float position.