What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G3X and dimmers

flysrv10

Well Known Member
Anyone connecting G3x to dimmers? If so, what brand and model dimmer you would recommend. Thank you.

I'm still waiting on my panel, so I have no experience with G3Xs.

But I have a ton of experience with G1000 screens in certified planes. I know the G1000 has a menu for dimmers and is controlled by those settings with itself.

Is the G3x different and requires an external switch?

Just go to Mouser or Digikey and order any 10K, panel mount, single turn, potentiometer. Bourns makes high quality units.

So is it for sure 1K?

I've been chasing an issue with mine since the panel re-do 3 years ago. It is SUPER sensitive, and only works through ~5-10% of the range. I've not troubleshot it much as I don't need to adjust the lighting often.

I just looked, and I bought that same model in 10K.

So, if it is supposed to be 1K, I may have found the problem...

So is it for sure 1K?

I've been chasing an issue with mine since the panel re-do 3 years ago. It is SUPER sensitive, and only works through ~5-10% of the range. I've not troubleshot it much as I don't need to adjust the lighting often.

I think I switched to the 1K models to help with resolution but the 10k should work just as good and I believe it is what Garmin calls out.
More importantly you also have to go into the dimmer menus and adjust the curves/set points to make them operate properly.

Last edited:
These dimmers were recommended to me by the large avionics shop doing my harness. I bought the two pot model for my flood lights I have in my RV8. you can get one to four circuits. They will prefab the harness for an extra fee if you want them to.

https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/sptdimming.php

G3X and GAD 27...these are the dimmers SteinAir sent me for my setup.