What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Hand controls needed, please help.

Gregmarlow

Well Known Member
Hello,
On March 24th, I was hit by a car on my motorcycle. Going about 50mph, I flipped over the car. I broke my pelvis, left arm and a few vertebrae in my lower back.

I'm healing in bed, with an external fixator on my pelvis, which finally comes out next week. My left arm has mostly healed, with some mobility limitations in my elbow. I don't think that will be a problem.

The problem is my right leg. I suffered nerve damage that has probably permanently paralyzed my right leg, from my upper thigh down.

My father in law gave me a very supportive talk the other day (heavy sarcasm there) and told me "you know you will never fly that plane again and that I need to sell it immediately. He's understandably worried about his daughter, and my ability to ever work again (I fly for a living), but he doesn't understand how important that plane is to me. You guys understand, something you build becomes a part of you. Also, my late father helped me build it, and it bears his initials and birthday in the N number.

I believe I will fly it again, but it's going to need a modification of hand controls for the rudder and brakes.

Does anyone have any ideas? I have a 9A, with brakes on the left side only. I have a center console that has the engine controls. Something operated with the right hand would be best, so I can keep my left hand on the stick, for crosswind landings and taxiing.

Thanks in advance, and keep an eye out for motorcycles.

Last edited by a moderator:
CONTROLS

Greg,