What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Stabilator Dimensions?

Piper J3

Well Known Member
The stabilator on the 12 is 8'-0" wide. I need to know the cord dimension and won't be able to go to the hanger for several days. Anybody know the cord dimension for the stabilator?

Stabilator Cord is 31"

Jim

The Stabilator Cord is 31"

Joe Dallas

The stabilator on the 12 is 8'-0" wide. I need to know the cord dimension and won't be able to go to the hanger for several days. Anybody know the cord dimension for the stabilator?

Last edited:
I've never worked with vinyl wrap before - it looks intriguing. I'd be tempted to do an entire airplane if starting with an unpainted structure. Looks like artistic creativity would be limitless and cost very reasonable...

I'll be stripping parts of mine and wrapping. The stabilator is probably the best paint on the plane, so that's not where I'll be starting. I talked to a guy last week who had wrapped his RV-12, but didn't catch his name -- I'm trying to find him again. We work for the same company, but a lot of people do.

I suspect you could do a wrap-as-you-go program. Maybe wrap one wing and fly a little bit and then wrap 2nd wing the following week, etc. until finally completed. Wouldn't lay the machine up for extended period of time and "RV smile" would remain in place. :D

Last edited:
Actually, the wings and tail are not all that bad. It's the fuselage that has real problems. The paint job was pretty poor, and there appears to have been little to no metal prep done. I'm not seeing evidence of primer or even scuffing/sanding, at least on the bottom of the fuse.