What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Country of birth/origin?

pierre smith

Well Known Member
I'm often amazed at the locations that RV's are being built in, so let's find out a little more about our brethren.

I was born in Kempton Park, South Africa and moved to Rhodesia at 5 years of age and knew four English words...Yes, no, please and thank you!:eek:

It was a steep learning curve under the Brits but I graduated in 1961 and moved to the U.S. as Zimbabwe bit the dirt under the rule then.

How 'bout the rest of you furriners?:)

Best,

Probably doesnt count, but I was born in Hawaii in 1956 at Tripler Hospital. Dad was stationed at Kaneohe (USMC). It was still a territory back then.
Transfered stateside when you could go the car factory and pick up a new Buick!
(was back there about 6 years ago---really loved it.)
Tom

Last edited:
My year of Manufacture was 1968, compliance plate says Country of Origin Port Moresby PNG, although it was actually a territory of Australia back then so basically a state of Oz.

Moved here in early 69, lived in Sydney till I was 9 and been in the Sunshine Capital ever since.

Traffic and big city life is getting to me.....so by 48 I intend to be more regional :)

The beauty of the internet and an RV10 means living regional and working a couple of days a week is all possible.

The Vans Time Machine! :):):)

Parents migrated to Australia from Holland a year or two after I was born. Grew up in Victoria, built model aeroplanes, became an engineer and moved to Western Australia in 1980 after spending a few years overseas. Thought about flying on and off over the years, but couldn't see the point in spending a not-so-small fortune just to fly around in circles and come down again. Wife finally decided to buy me an aero club voucher for 3 flying lessons. My first RV-12 crates were delivered the day I got my PPL in August 2010. It was a good day!