What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Is there a consensus on the best clecos?

I've not had any problems with any brand except for ATS. I have other ATS tools that are great, but not so with their clecos.
Now having said that, the ATS clecos I had problems with were purchased back in the early 1980s. Things may have changed since then.

I was told in one of the week-long Build Your Empennage classes that Cleaveland Tools had the best...the tang was just slightly smaller to fit easier. And indeed in the class we tried those vs. others and the Cleavelands were easier to use.

my 20 year old clecos don't fit the hole until after i drill the holes out to #40 so i use vans clecos to start with and after drilling put in the old ones. so the old ones are slightly larger.

I am no expert on this, but in past threads/posts on this, in this forum, a number of builders expressed a view that Wedgeloc brand were superior.
I have no way of knowing if this is correct.

John

Last edited:
Aircraft Spruce

I like the ones I got from Aircraft Spruce, and they give a volume discount. I think I paid $0.35 each for 100 of the silver clecos. They also seem to have a better finish than the ones I got from Avery

Last edited:
Best fit

I have always found the copper ones to be the best fit for #30 holes and
the silver ones best for #40 holes.:D

Geez, everyone's a comedian!

I knew the moment I pressed submit, this thread would turn out like this. I remembered reading about the wedgelock clecos, but couldn't remember the name. So, no consensus. I'm shocked I tell you. Shocked! :p I do have a few clecos that I purchased with the tool box, but not nearly enough, obviously. Thanks again for you guys' help.

Mike

There IS a difference...

When I started my build, I inherited hundreds of cleco from my buddy's -8. No problems whatsoever.