What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

-7A vs -9A

coopGT

-7A vs -9A for Low Time Pilots

After lots of research, thought, discussion with my wife, and the oh so important input from VAF, we have narrowed it down to the -7A or -9A. I understand there is not too much of a difference other than aero and non-aero, engine specs, and wing dynamics. Our mission is weekend fun, short cross countries (with the exception to a few long XC to FL and SC). Aerobatics is low on my list but want the option to be there. However, as a low time pilot my question is.. is the -9A that much more stable than the -7A? The plane will have IFR panel but will not be primarily used in IMC. Some will say the -9A is an easier transition for us 172 pilots. Any truth to this? My heart is set on the -7A but do want what’s best for my low time transition.

Last edited:
W&B added question

Also, any W&B differences? Vans site claims -7A full fuel and 2 passengers, how about the -9A? I know it depends a lot on what’s is added etc but just a general consensus.

If it makes any difference, I started transitioning into my dad's RV-6 at 19, with 50 or so hours in C150s. It took a little while because I wasn't able to fly often, I was learning to handle a taildragger, and Dad was teaching me a lot of other stuff about flying, too. Overall it took about 30 hours before he'd let me run off with his new airplane, but by that point I'd done spins, aerobatics, tailwheel transition, a little formation, and learned quite a bit of other stuff that I didn't get from the flight school CFI.

With a good instructor you should be able to transition to either one just fine. Your insurance won't be cheap at first and the transition may take a bit longer than for someone with more experience, but it's certainly doable.

I've never flown a -9/-9A, but I knew aerobatics were part of my mission set and wife vetoed a -4 or -8. So, -7 it was.