What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lowrance Airmap

MXpilot1

I have been using an Airmap 2000C GPS in my -6 for two years. There has been several times when I had an airport selected, I could clearly see the airport and the GPS was pointing 10 or 20 degrees off. This weekend I was returning from the Bahamas to West Palm Beach. I was lined up on the localizer but my the GPS was pointing 20 degrees to the north. I re-entered the airport several times with the same result. I notice too that whenever I set a radial to a VOR there is a slight to significant difference from the OBS in my panel. I have updated the software twice. No joy! Has anyone else experienced this?

I have been using an Airmap 2000C GPS in my -6 for two years. There has been several times when I had an airport selected, I could clearly see the airport and the GPS was pointing 10 or 20 degrees off. This weekend I was returning from the Bahamas to West Palm Beach. I was lined up on the localizer but my the GPS was pointing 20 degrees to the north. I re-entered the airport several times with the same result. I notice too that whenever I set a radial to a VOR there is a slight to significant difference from the OBS in my panel. I have updated the software twice. No joy! Has anyone else experienced this?

This may be a bit obvious, but be sure you are selecting an airport, not a VOR. If you have the Airmap pointed at a VOR on the field, you will see an error.

I've been flying the Airmap 1000 for a few years and it has been dead accurate.

I love my Airmap 1000, as well. I've used it to fly to the Bahamas, up the east coast to Pennsylvania, all over Georgia and Florida, and as far west as....uh....Alabama (gonna fix that this summer with a trip to Ca.) Never a problem.

Hmmmm... Very Interesting!