What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How many hours before starting?

I'm a 40 year-old student pilot (about halfway done) and have pondered the question of whether it would be better to build or continue to rent.

Considering the RV series to be the most cost-effective and best looking kits on the market (IMHO), I am strongly leaning towards building.

If I decide to build I will, like most others who started their projects, take it slow. I have absolutely zero experience with sheet metal working and want to do this as correctly as I can.

Now, here's the question. Should one have a certain amount of flying experience before building their own aircraft? I can't tell you how I love to be in the air. It's freakin' awesome! Took a small x-country this weekend and wished that I could go back in time and made this my career!

I believe I have the passion to build. Just wanted to know if this is something that I should pursue immediately after obtaining my certificate or should I wait until I have a couple hundred hours in the books?

Thanks,

Mike

I say start building NOW if finances and time will allow. There is no reason to wait otherwise.

Have a couple hundred hours before you build your panel or decide whether you want to go fixed pitch or constant speed. You don't really know what you want in those regards until you have a little flying under your belt. These are two parts of the build that are particularly expensive, so you don't want to waste your money.

That said, there's no reason not to start building now. Nosewheel/tailwheel will be your first big decision, but that's a ways off down the building road. (There too, experience flying one or both will really help you make an informed decision.)

Good luck.

Have a couple hundred hours before you build your panel or decide whether you want to go fixed pitch or constant speed.