What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Considering RV-8

Hey All,

I am new so...

A little about me:

I am 25 years old. Have been a pilot since I was 20. I graduated from the Aeronautical Science program at LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas in 2005. While in school I got my commercial certificate, flight instructor certificates, as well as my A&P mechanic certificate. I flight instructed for a year before I got my current job flying contract King Air 200s based out of VA. I've now been flying King Airs in the Middle East (lotsa sand) for about 2 years now.

I am a professional pilot and am planning on a long career in aviation. However, aviation as a job is not fun (well less fun) unless you have your own plane to 'mess about in.' Over the past several months I've been thinking long and hard about buying a plane. A friend of mine from college is into building kit planes and he got me thinking about building my own... before I start this project I want to be sure I will see it through and I want as much info as possible before I start... if you guys don't mind I would like to pick your collective brains for information so I can get some direction before I make the plunge.

Preliminary Questions:

Average cost from nothing to flyable? I am planning on building an RV-8. I want something which can get up and go somewhere. I love the tandem "fighter plane" seating and the tail wheel sealed the deal. I was thinking I would like to get a 180 to 200hp engine with a constant speed prop. What is a good amount to budget toward this project?

IFR? Because I plan on most using this plane for cross countries I will make it IFR 'certified'. I probably will set it up similar to the G1000 Cessnas I've flown but with the Dynon flight system... or I could just do a normal 6pack with a GNS430. I would use as many TSO'd instruments as possible. Any recommendations on this?