What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Problems with C Frame Dimpling Tool

osaleh

Hi everyone,

Please help. I am new to all this. i got my tools set from Browns and Avery's, my training project and Emppenage kit. I know it is silly but i am stuck at assembling the C Frame Dimpling tool from Avery. I included a link to the tool. Basically it comes with 2 long shafts. From the pictures, it looks like the shaft should go down the top hole and move up and down easily. this is not the case. It would not go in. I thought i will hammer it in and force and maybe loosen the hole, but now it is stuck. I cannot get it to come out now. Any ideas? I know i am doing something silly. Any help please?

http://www.averytools.com/p-12-hand-riveting-dimpling-tool.aspx

you should just drop it in through the brass bushings...call Avery maybe they can send you new bushings.

See if you can remove the lower set holder (silver rectangel piece) and pound the stuck set holder out from the bottom using a brass drift pin. Then either get a hold of Avery and explain your problem or if you have a reamer of the correct size, try to carefully ream the bushing. Be careful not to bang things up too much so as to not misalign the arbor.

Roberta

Last edited:
Dumb question maybe but did you put a dimple die in the rod before you tried to shove it through the brass bushing? if so then I would try to knock the die out from the bottom. Dies are cheaper than a new C-Frame.

re c frame issues

thanks for your input. It seems i was sent the wrong bushings. I had someone try it over the phone with me on the new one they will send. it slides right in. I spent a whole day wondering what i was doing wrong. What a waste. :mad: