What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Diving into RV World!

docjefft

Hello,

I'm new to VAF and have been "lurking" for a few weeks now trying to learn just enough to not sound too ignorant! I am a long-time instrument-rated pilot, but have been on a long hiatus from flying because I had a wild notion to go to medical school at age 47. Now I'm almost done with residency and about to start work as an ER doc in northeast Georgia. My plan is to get current with lots of study, new medical (mine is more than 10 yrs old), biannual, and instrument profiency check - will probably take a substantial amount of time just to get my feet back in the water.

I also had the bug to buy a plane, but after looking at all of the options, I'm now all but sold on an RV-10 build, and hope to make a final decision just after the New Year arrives. So, I'm trying to spend a lot of time on VAF trying to learn as much as possible from all the great threads that all of you post.

I guess my basic concern at this point is, like a lot of other newbies, can I do all the sheet metal work and riveting? I am very handy with tools, but am thus far only proficient as a woodworker. I noticed that some of the newer builders mention completing "practice kits," such as a toolbox. Are these part of the RV kit, or something you buy earlier? I think I would like to try my hand at riveting, etc. before writing a check for the aircraft. I've also thought of going to one of the EAA workshops.

Unfortunately, due to the last few demands of my residency program, I couldn't make Oshkosh this year, but hope to make it to Sun 'n Fun in April to see some RVs and hopefully learn a lot more.

Any thoughts for a potential RVator would be much appreciated, and I hope that I can soon become a contributor and not just a listener!

Thanks!
Jeff Trawick

Welcome to the VAF community and congratulations on the conclusion of your residency!