What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Completed wiring harness from Van's

cleve_thompson

Well Known Member
My RV 9A QB kit came today and as I am figuring what in the world have I done :confused: , I began by searching Van's catalogue. I think that the wiring harness as built by Van's for the RV 9A would do what I need.

I have no experience wiring etc. I hope to have an IFR RV when I finish with heated pitot, wing tip strobes, tip antennas, etc.

Any suggestions? Should I order the bus as well?

Cleve

EXP-Bus

Hi Cleve ...
Get the Exp Bus from Vans ... you won't regret the small investment, and the simplicity that it will bring to your wiring. While I did not build an IFR 9a, I TOO knew less than nothing about wiring. Hang in there.
Tom Sampson
Portland, Oregon

Cleve,

I bought their wiring harness and wound up cutting it appart so I could use the wire.

Since I'm installing a "non standard" panel, it wouldn't have worked for me.

That harness is really made for those who are using the Van's prepunched panel and all of their instruments, radios, etc.

I suggest you work out your wiring diagram, pass it around for comments, and then go with it. Not a big deal and a good chance to learn something (else) new.

Just my $.02.

Best of luck with whatever you go with.

Cleve,

Don't be afraid - wiring is just like plumbing, only you don't get all wet!

If you are just getting your QB kit, you've got some time before you have to worry about a lot of wiring. I'd suggest carving out a litle time and reading through Bob Knuckoll's book (Aeroelectric Connection) first. If it all still seems to be a total mystery, and your palms are all sweaty, then the pre-made harness may be for you. But I'd bet there's a good chance that when you're done, you'll not only have a good enough understanding of how to do it, but several clever ideas about how to do things that will make the system "your own".