VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #11  
Old 08-18-2021, 12:54 AM
Michel Collet Michel Collet is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Gap France
Posts: 9
Default

What is exactly GPS 35 ?
Michel
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2021, 08:56 AM
gmkonrad's Avatar
gmkonrad gmkonrad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Howell,MI
Posts: 157
Default Garmin 18X gps

Michel,
The Garmin 18x 5hz GPS works for Tru-Trak Digiflight II. I would think it would also work for the ADI Pilot II. If necessary it can be reconfigured with a laptop PC.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/13195

Gary
__________________
Gary
RV-7 FLYING
N319GK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-20-2021, 01:22 PM
Tom @ N269CP Tom @ N269CP is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Green Cove Springs, FL
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cth6 View Post
Without a GPS source to provide track or heading information it will fall back to the bank mode that you are seeing.

Note the heading is a GPS track heading not a magnetic heading.

You will need a GPS that provides serial output to make this set up work.
FYI. My TruTrak a/p is coupled with my Aera 660. I was unsure what heading type was displayed on the a/p. So I scrolled through the various “data boxes” on the Aera 660 and found the only data box exactly matching the a/p display was “Gnd Trk (mag)”. So, it is my impression that the a/p displays Ground Track (mag) when coupled to my GPS.
__________________
Kind regards,

Tom

==================================
RV-8 N269CP
O-360-A1A w/Hartzell CS prop on 100LL
Slick-IC+PMag ignitions
Steam gauges
EI UBG-16, FP-5, & MUX-8A datalogger
Garmin Aera 660
TruTrak ADI Pilot II (GPS coupled)
Garmin GDL39 3D ADSB-In
uAvionix Tailbeacon ADSB-Out
Infinity grip w/Matronics trim speed control
Reiff preheater system
TCW oil cooler air damper w/servo drive
AntiSplat oil mist separator
Mountain High O2D1 O2 system

Location: Durango, CO (KDRO)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2021, 10:34 AM
Michel Collet Michel Collet is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Gap France
Posts: 9
Default

Gary, thanks.
I am going to buy one.
Does the GPS work as it comes out of the box ?
Or is any reconfiguration needed ?
Michel
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2021, 12:44 PM
gmkonrad's Avatar
gmkonrad gmkonrad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Howell,MI
Posts: 157
Default

I believe the Garmin 18X-5hz gps will work out of the box.
BUT, check for proper input voltage, it requires 4 - 5.5 vdc.
Connect the gps #4, white, transmit data, wire to the ADI Pilot II pin 17, Primary Serial Input. Also be sure of a common ground between the gps and the autopilot.
Yes the Garmin gps can be reconfigured if needed. I needed an adapter to connect it to a laptop serial port, and software to read/configure the gps.
The adapter was made by Keyspan, the software came from Garmin.

Gary
__________________
Gary
RV-7 FLYING
N319GK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.