What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Postpartum depression. AKA post- Build depresionsion

Mark Henderson

Well Known Member
I've been a pilot since 1968 and a builder for only 3 years. I finished my 12 one year ago. Don't ge me wrong, I love flying it. But I really miss building it too! Is it normal to Keep wanting to be a builder, not just a pilot? I was glad when Van's came out with the autopilot kit and the wheel pants. I could add them to my plane andnot feel guilty. Even as we speak, I am adding steam guages to my plane in the supposed interest of "safety". Isn't this the excuse every addict uses to justify their addiction?

My wife will divorce me if I start a new airplane. But I find myself looking in Trade- A-Plane for a nice Cub or Champ project.You know, one that doesn't need much work--- Just recoverong and maybe some engine and avionics work. Is there a cure?

Mark,

Not sure about the 12 with it's limitations on modifications, but there are lots of "projects" one can do on other RVs. Like making a trigear into a taildragger (been there, done that); changing out the gear for different wheels/tires (also been there, done that); modifying the panel (not yet, but maybe down the road), adding interior bits and pieces (I've added a nice fire extinguisher bracket, a mounting spot for my PLB and a few other things); changing the CG by moving the battery or other heavy bit; going to a different prop (not yet, but maybe next winter will try the Aeromatic).

An alternative I have considered is building another airplane (in my case I'm thinking Highlander or Rans) in partner with someone. That would make the cost more reasonable and the time commitment not so large.

The only cure is keep building something....

cheers,
greg

One Must Have