What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to make an outie and innie?

missile29

Hi,

I did something stupid on my rudder. I slipped while riveting the shear clips to the stiffeners and made a tiny little pimple (opposite of a dent, facing out) on my skin. Accidents happen, and I should have left it alone, but being a noob, I thought "I can fix that!" So I placed the skin face down and a back rivet plate and proceeded to try to tap the pimple flat by tapping all around with a hammer / bucking bar, etc.

Now I have a lump about the diameter of a golf ball. It's not terribly tall, but will oil can in and out when I push on it. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to turn this particular outie into an innie so that I can fill it later. I have already riveted the skins together and the spar in place, but have not closed up the leading edje yet, so I can still sortof reach some fingers up inside if needed. Anything I do just seems to make matters worse.

Thanks!

Sorry I don't know how to make the "outie" into an "innie", since the skin is likely now stretched from the tapping.

But the next time there is another pimple or ding, just use a dinner spoon from the kitchen and slowly work around and around the bump to smooth it out. Try practising on some scrap first, it works!