VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV Building Tips/Techniques
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-23-2021, 12:41 PM
rv8ch's Avatar
rv8ch rv8ch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LSGY
Posts: 3,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TS Flightlines View Post
... Since most of our clients doing this install are using teflon, we came up with this dual tee for 2 PMags/Sureflys. Can be done alot of different ways, but the object lessen is to NOT have a MP leak which creates other issues. ...
Tom, this is a nice solution and looks very solid. Your kit would have saved me a lot of time and money buying bits that didn't work.
__________________
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
"Hello, world!"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-23-2021, 12:58 PM
David Paule David Paule is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,665
Default

Tom, it looks like a tee on the manifold would let you run a line from the cylinder to the manifold, then connect the Pmags to that tee. If this is feasible, it would save you the weight and volume of one tee and the connection to the other. It would also let you eliminate one plug on the manifold.

I am building an RV-3B, and there's not much room in that area.
Thanks,
Dave

Last edited by David Paule : 02-23-2021 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-23-2021, 07:21 PM
georgedouglas georgedouglas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: florida/tennessee
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Hersha View Post
Tomas,
Like Tom, I had a fitting off cylinder 3 with #3 braided line (TS Flightlines), going to a T fitting on the firewall, which supplied the MAP line, and the dual Pmags. My fitting on the #3 cylinder was a steel restrictor fitting, although I donít know if that was necessary. I used small aluminum lines with flared fittings for much of this (I think it was 1/4Ē, but not sure), but when it got near the Pmags, I transitioned to the silicone tube supplied with the Pmag kit. I used a nylon barbed fitting with a clamp to split the pressure source on that silicone line to the two Pmags.
It worked well for my with no noticeable fluctuations.
I installed dual Pmags on my 0-320 and followed the instructions using separate sources for the MAP lines. What's this talk about fluctuations? Is this something to be concerned about? If a restrictor fitting was required wouldn't that be in the instructions? In over 20 hours of operation since installation, I have no issues that I am aware of.
george
__________________
RV9A
2TN7 Wolfcreek
President EAA Chapter 17
Knoxville TN
A&P & Private Pilot
USAF 1966-1970
1970-2001 DAL
www.oilhelp.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2021, 07:51 PM
Doug Rohrer Doug Rohrer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 316
Default Update

A builder friend just got his Pmags and they included a little fitting for the vacuum line with a restriction built in. I do not know the size of the restriction, but it was noticeably smaller than the fitting ID. It looks like the Pmag guys figured out a simple solution to the pulse issue.
__________________
Doug Rohrer
Bowling Green, KY
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2021, 08:52 PM
TS Flightlines TS Flightlines is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 2,720
Default

David----to run dual pmags and the map sensor, you need 4 ports. Spruce has a really nice aluminum manifold with 3 ports, or 5 ports like the pic. You still need the AN fittings to complete the install. WE felt like ours was simple, and relatively inexpensive.

Mickey--sorry man. WE try to listen to what guys are asking for, and sometimes we announce it, and sometimes not.

Ya'll have ideas? What the heck, Steve and I will take a crack at it.

Tom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	04-00102 Spruce manifold.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	8696  
__________________
Tom Swearengen, TS Flightlines LLC, AS Flightlines
Joint Venture with Aircraft Specialty
Teflon Hose Assemblies for Experimentals
Proud Vendor for RV1, Donator to VAF
RV7 Tail Kit Completed, Fuse started-Pay as I go Plan
Ridgeland, SC
www.tsflightlines.com, www.asflightlines.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-24-2021, 02:04 AM
Tomas J's Avatar
Tomas J Tomas J is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ostersund in middle of Scandinavia
Posts: 46
Default Answer from E-Mag

Thanks all for reply. I wrote a question to E-Mag and got this clarifying answer from Brad...
"If you have existing manifold plumbing, itís best to fashion a tee into an existing line. If not, itís common to use the primer port (1/8Ē NPT) if you are installing on a Lycoming. Picking up closer to the carburetor is a cleaner signal but we include a pulse dampener so itís not a significant issue. Alternatively, an orifice can restrict pulses and can serve to minimize air imbalance in the event of a plumbing failure. On normally aspirated engines, our MAP input is fail-safe so ignition firing will remain serviceable in such event."
__________________
Tomas Johansson
Flying RV-4, and Super Cub on floats and skis
in Northern Sweden in Skandinavia
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-24-2021, 05:39 AM
TS Flightlines TS Flightlines is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgeland, SC
Posts: 2,720
Default

David---after sleeping on this, I assume you are speaking of the tranducer manifold on the firewall. So yes you can use a AN825 or AN826, probably the 826 to plumb this.

Tom
__________________
Tom Swearengen, TS Flightlines LLC, AS Flightlines
Joint Venture with Aircraft Specialty
Teflon Hose Assemblies for Experimentals
Proud Vendor for RV1, Donator to VAF
RV7 Tail Kit Completed, Fuse started-Pay as I go Plan
Ridgeland, SC
www.tsflightlines.com, www.asflightlines.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-24-2021, 10:11 AM
David Paule David Paule is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,665
Default

Tom, that's what I was thinking. I was trying to imagine what I was missing after reading your previous post - thanks!

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-24-2021, 10:29 AM
wirejock's Avatar
wirejock wirejock is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Estes Park, CO
Posts: 4,215
Default AN826

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Paule View Post
Tom, that's what I was thinking. I was trying to imagine what I was missing after reading your previous post - thanks!

Dave
The AN826 will supply MP to two P-mags but what about MP to the EMS?
Don't you still need another "T" somewhere?
__________________
Larry Larson
Estes Park, CO
http://wirejockrv7a.blogspot.com
wirejock at yahoo dot com
Donated 01/01/2021, plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved (2,000+ hours)
HS SB, empennage, tanks, wings, fuse, working finishing kit
Disclaimer
I cannot be, nor will I be, held responsible if you try to do the same things I do and it does not work and/or causes you loss, injury, or even death in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-24-2021, 11:43 AM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,496
Default

Does anyone have a source for the fitting that fits to the AN826 fitting and small enough for the 1/8" hose to the PMAG?
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - Flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.