VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-3
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2021, 11:44 AM
Derek343 Derek343 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Shreveport la
Posts: 23
Default How? Dynon Autopilot Install on RV-3A

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone already solved this problem. I have a Dynon EFIS-10A and servos are $750 for each axis autopilot - so $1500 to add it. They have mounting kits for the 4,6,8, but not the 3. Does any of them work for the 3?
https://dynonstore.com/#!/Mounting-B...its/c/13788234

If not, has anyone installed it and can suggest how to do it?

Thanks!

Derek
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2021, 12:18 PM
David Paule David Paule is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,665
Default

I used the standard Dynon wing mount kit for the roll axis, and made my own pitch servo mount. For connecting to the pitch bellcrank, I used Dynon's generic mount kit.

Here's the pitch servo. I don't seem to have a photo of the roll servo installation but it's fairly stock.



Here's a view of the pitch brackets.



With the roll servo, at first I installed GRT's servo and later replaced it with Dynon's. The Dynon one was easier to attach because the GRT one had a connector in a very awkward position. But the Dynon one did need a small bracket, supplied in their kit, for more rigidity, if I remember right. The wings are out at the hangar and I can't get there today for a photo.

Bottom line, I think that the 4/8 pitch kit and the 7/8/9 roll kits will work. Or you could assemble your own.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2021, 07:30 PM
FinnFlyer FinnFlyer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bell, FL
Posts: 466
Default

The 0.75" dimension confirmed by Dynon.

The bottom holes in the angles of course have to be made to work with the RV-3 fuselage bulkheads.

Finn
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PitchServoAngles.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	8447  
__________________
N214FL RV-4 Mazda 13B Renesis First flight 20 Feb 2021
N46AZ RV3-B Mazda 13B EFI -- Bought -- Flying
N993FL RV-3A Mazda 13B NA 575 hours
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2021, 07:51 PM
RussellT RussellT is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Albany Western Australia
Posts: 85
Default

As Dave has said the pitch kit for the 4 & 8 works well and is straight forward to fit. I used the roll servo kit for the 7,8 & 9 and apart from a length adjustment to a support bracket it works well. However this is for the 3B wing and as the servo mount bracket replaces one of the bellcrank brackets this could be different for your RV 3A.
[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
RV 3B. Very slow build. Now onto final assembly...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2021, 01:07 PM
Rich Pulman Rich Pulman is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: CYQA Canada
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek343 View Post
I have a Dynon EFIS-10A....
I'm more fascinated to learn how you got that EFIS between the instrument panel and the fuselage fuel tank. I was looking at doing that recently, but there was just no way it would fit in my plane. Colour me curious...
__________________
RV-3A (C-FARV) bought
RV-8 (C-FRAP) building

Donated 2021
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2021, 03:56 PM
Derek343 Derek343 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Shreveport la
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Pulman View Post
I'm more fascinated to learn how you got that EFIS between the instrument panel and the fuselage fuel tank. I was looking at doing that recently, but there was just no way it would fit in my plane. Colour me curious...
My 3A has wing tanks. It doesn't have a fuselage tank.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2021, 04:19 PM
Derek343 Derek343 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Shreveport la
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Paule View Post
I used the standard Dynon wing mount kit for the roll axis, and made my own pitch servo mount. For connecting to the pitch bellcrank, I used Dynon's generic mount kit.

Here's the pitch servo. I don't seem to have a photo of the roll servo installation but it's fairly stock.



Here's a view of the pitch brackets.



With the roll servo, at first I installed GRT's servo and later replaced it with Dynon's. The Dynon one was easier to attach because the GRT one had a connector in a very awkward position. But the Dynon one did need a small bracket, supplied in their kit, for more rigidity, if I remember right. The wings are out at the hangar and I can't get there today for a photo.

Bottom line, I think that the 4/8 pitch kit and the 7/8/9 roll kits will work. Or you could assemble your own.

Dave
Perfect, here's my order for people who search for this in the future:
Autopilot Order
2 x SV32 standard arms
4/8 Pitch Kit - Install Instructions
RV-7/8/10 Roll Kit - Install Instructions
2 x Network Autopilot Servo Cable Kit

Hopefully that works.

Is the AP74 worth the extra $450 or does it work fine through the EFIS?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2021, 05:18 PM
dwaynebob dwaynebob is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 40
Default

I too have a question about mounting an autopilot servo. Has anyone mounted the roll servo in the space just below your knee, near the stick? I was having questions as to whether I wanted to mount it in the wing and it not being easily serviceable. I have a trutrak ADI pilot II.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2021, 06:08 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaynebob View Post
I too have a question about mounting an autopilot servo. Has anyone mounted the roll servo in the space just below your knee, near the stick? I was having questions as to whether I wanted to mount it in the wing and it not being easily serviceable. I have a trutrak ADI pilot II.
I think you’d find “under the knee” to be really constraining when it comes to shifting positions in flight. I often pull my heels back and get my knees up towards my chin to change seating positions on a long flight leg. If you clutter up that floor area, you won’t be able to do this, and the cockpit will be pretty tight.

Because of the geometry of the cockpit in my little jet, I really don’t have any alternate positions available (it makes the RV-3 feel spacious) - but I’m a glider in two hours due to fuel capacity, so most flight legs are only a touch over an hour anyway, so it doesn’t make any difference.

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2021, 10:14 AM
dwaynebob dwaynebob is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironflight View Post
I think you’d find “under the knee” to be really constraining when it comes to shifting positions in flight. I often pull my heels back and get my knees up towards my chin to change seating positions on a long flight leg. If you clutter up that floor area, you won’t be able to do this, and the cockpit will be pretty tight.

Because of the geometry of the cockpit in my little jet, I really don’t have any alternate positions available (it makes the RV-3 feel spacious) - but I’m a glider in two hours due to fuel capacity, so most flight legs are only a touch over an hour anyway, so it doesn’t make any difference.

Paul
All good points, thank you. I am on the fence about an autopilot. I am VFR only, mostly a flagpole flyer and local formation flights. I can count on one and a half hands how many times I took my -4 or Rocket on a cross country, and only my Rocket had an autopilot...but I admit, it was very nice on that 3 hour flight to Idaho. My thoughts were that if I could put it down below my knee, I could add it later if I wanted to. My -3 is very bare bones.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.