What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Light Speed ignition behavior

flightlogic

Well Known Member
Patron
Still learning here... 40 years on mags and now in the 9 with an electronic ignition on one set of plugs. After about 20 minutes of flight (8500 ft) I hear a subtle change in the engine sound. Is the timing changing or maybe something else going on? It is barely noticeable, but I do pay close attention...:)

More info and tests?

I am running one mag one lightspeed. 400 hrs without an issue other than one small adjustment to mag.

I am no expert hopefully they chime in.....but you talk of a change in sound? Like what would you say it does?
Is there an RPM fluctuation, fuel flow change, temp change. Do you have a efis....if so download it and run it through something like savvy.

If you run in steady cruise and shut down the mag, still hear it. Turn mag back on and shut off lightspeed. Give some more stuff and the smart dudes will give you some good ideas.

Still learning here... 40 years on mags and now in the 9 with an electronic ignition on one set of plugs. After about 20 minutes of flight (8500 ft) I hear a subtle change in the engine sound. Is the timing changing or maybe something else going on? It is barely noticeable, but I do pay close attention...:)

You should not hear any change in engine noise from your lightspeed ignition under any circumstances. The adjustments its making are far faster than your ear and brain can process as you are moving the black or blue knobs.

1000+ hours on dual Lightspeeds with flywheel pickups.

The -only- problem I ever had was when I developed an intermittent leak in the plumbing leading to the manifold pressure transducer. The ignition would try and adjust the spark timing based on the inaccurate readings it was getting.

Fixing the leak fixed the problem.

As usual... quick replies and very useful. Thanks !