What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Routing conduit in a QB wing

chopperchops

G'day everyone,

I'm a newbie poster here, but love the information on the site. Be gentle with me :eek:

I am building a QB RV8 and have a question regarding wing wiring. I have been in deep thought for some time now about the merits of using conduit, or running a laced harness through 'P' clamps in the wings. Has anyone got specific thoughts on this?

If you have used conduit in a QB wing, how did you route it? I cannot see how it is possible to drill the holes in the ribs, especially through the wing walk area. I was considering one of the lightening holes.

Pictures would be AWESOME! Thanks everyone.

Conduit can be run in QB wings, but it is no fun. I used a 12 inch drill bit and 12 inch extensions for a couple of unibits. The hardest part is pulling the conduit through the wing walk area. I routed it where Van's recommends.

Search the forum for this. Plenty of info on this subject.

I ran solid plastic pipe from Home Depot's aviation department and suspended it in the lightening holes. I used Goop to cement the pipe to the brackets so it wouldn't move.

Worked great!

Hi Rob,
Having just done this very operation I will share what I can. Sorry though. I took no pictures during the process.
First off I elected to mount my conduit through the ribs in the approved location as opposed to through the lighting holes. I taped short segments of conduit in various positions and then hung the bottom skin and tested sticking my hand through the access panels to simulate maintenance. What I found for me was that I personally disliked having the conduit through the lightning hole. Either the conduit was in the way of the aileron bellcrank or the aileron bellcrank was in the way of the conduit. When the conduit was in the position approved by Van's it seemed to be out of the way the most.