What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Criteria for buying an RV6a

NorcalRV

I'm New Here
Hi everyone, I have been looking at RV6a's for 6-7 months causally and now I am ready to buy. This will be my first plane and I am new to aviation. When I am reading the ads I want to know what are your go and no go things you look for? I want to be able to choose the right plane and get a pre-buy done on it and be able to quickly weed out undesirable planes.

* Did any of you have a set criteria for those hours (airframe/engine)?
* Airframe TT does it matter?
* In an 0-360 what is considered Mid to low time (anything less than 750)? Overhaul is at 1500hrs correct?
* What about engines that have already been overhauled and now have a certain amount of time SMOH? Still worth considering what about hours?

My budget is 65k or less and I want ideally an 0-360 CS with a slider just in case anyone knows of one coming onto the market.

Thanks for any help! Keen to learn from everyone here!

Ryan

I would highly encourage you to join your local EAA chapter and engage the tech counselor / flight advisor programs. Those are the vetted people that will be happy to sit down and dive into the details of your, yet to be identified, airplane for the most success.

Most 0-360’s are 2000 TBO, but I have run some to 3000 hrs with no problems. Same applies to SMOH. 100-1200 hrs SMOH or TT is mid time.

I’d probably make sure you get a good prebuy by someone specifically expereinced with the rV-6A regardless of hours. IMO, $65K for 0-360 with CS prop will not likely get you modern avionics.

Get into a local EAA chapter to get some more insight.