What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ultra Newbie Question

agfly

I'm New Here
I'm a pilot since 1985. I've always thought about doing one of these... ordered the toolbox kit to verify to myself I can do it. Worked around tools all my life.

NEWBIE question: I've got a compressor, and a bunch of tools, but I've never done solid rivets. Do I get a mechanical squeezer ala Cleveland or a pneumatic 3x gun? I mean - this is still in the "gestation" stage for me, and they're both pricey. What do you'uns recommend as "introduction to dimple, solid rivet" ?

You definitely need a 3x rivet gun. Rivets need to be close to an edge to get a mechanical squeezer on them. For example, theres no practical way to rivet the skins on with a squeezer.

A mechanical squeezer is well worth the money. It's a super convenient tool and really easy to get consistently good rivets, so I use one whenever practical, a hand operated one will work fine for -3 rivets. If you have a strong grip, you can us it for the -4's as well.

You're also going to need a back rivet set and plate for the skin to stiffener rivets on the rudder, depending on which model you decide to build.

Oh, and a small tungsten bucking bar is awesome.

Tools - used

I'm a pilot since 1985. I've always thought about doing one of these... ordered the toolbox kit to verify to myself I can do it. Worked around tools all my life.

NEWBIE question: I've got a compressor, and a bunch of tools, but I've never done solid rivets. Do I get a mechanical squeezer ala Cleveland or a pneumatic 3x gun? I mean - this is still in the "gestation" stage for me, and they're both pricey. What do you'uns recommend as "introduction to dimple, solid rivet" ?