What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

First Flight in an RV

NavyIBNFE

Good Evening RVers,

I have been with the Forum for a few months and am still up in the air on whether I want to buy or build.
I have visited the Vans factory in Oregon and have spoke with many RV owners and builders.
I am sure I have seen the offer on the forums before, I am not sure im even posting in the correct area, but i would like to know if there are any local (Western WA) RVers who would be willing to let me come watch their build for a few hours to see how some techniques are done and talk about building steps and possible road blocks.
OR maybe there are a few Flying RVers who would be interested in taking a passenger (ME :rolleyes:) up for an "intro" flight in an RV. I am mostly into the RV-8, but I understand for instruction or demo that the RV-6/7 would be better.
I am a Private Multi pilot with just over 100 hours an I have zero tailwheel time, but I like the TW -6, -7, and -8 the best. I am planning to get my endorsement soon. Maybe there is an instructor nearby who can give me a sign off in a -6 or -7?
This is all the general idea. If anyone has info about demo flights and instruction let me know- either on this thread or a PM.

Thank you and I look forward to meeting some RVers hopefully!

Jake

Build/buy

Jake,

I don't want to take sales away from Vans but the question is whether you are a builder or not.

In the current market you can often buy for less than you can build for, depending on the type. However, many of us like building and get as much enjoyment from that as flying. It can be a frustrating business though when you make mistakes, and we all do, some minor some major.

Buying gets you one now, building in two years or up to 20 depending on how life works its wonders.

I personally am the type that would always be building something, but in the current market I would be tempted to buy.