VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-7/7A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2021, 11:35 PM
rapid_ascent rapid_ascent is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,578
Default Where to Purchase Princeton Capacitive Converters

I've been trying to figure out where I can buy a set of the 2 point Princeton capacitive fuel sensor converters. ACS is showing the 5 point version, but I don't need those with my G3X system. I've emailed and left voicemail at Princeton Electronics, but no response. I heard that GRT sold them, but they responded that they no longer sell them. I think Vans used to sell them, but I didn't see them when I searched for them.

Any ideas on how best to proceed?
__________________
Ray Tonks
2020 Donation Paid
Titan IOX-370, Dual PMAGs, 9.6:1 Pistons, FM-150
RV-7 Fuselage in progress
* Cabin Interior - In progress
RV-7 SB Wings
* Both Wings fully skinned
* Fuel Tanks Complete - No leaks finally
* Ailerons Complete
* Flaps Complete
RV-7 Empennage - Complete (a little fiberglass work left)
Vans Training Kit # 2 - Complete
RV-7 Preview Plans
Vans Training Kit #1 - Complete
EAA Sheet Metal Class - Complete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2021, 05:46 AM
KatanaPilot KatanaPilot is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 738
Default

Are you sure you need the converters? The GEA is compatible with capacitance probes like the Princeton. I think you need to provide ships power though, since the GEA power output is somewhat limited.
__________________
Krea Ellis

Locust Grove, GA
DA20-A1 "Princess Amelia" - gone home to Amelia Island
RV-7A Phase 2 (Honored to be Van's "Miss July" 2021)
RV-10 under construction at Synergy Air South
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2021, 05:51 AM
MS1095 MS1095 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 141
Default

https://www.princeton-electronics.com/

08/26/2021
Princeton Electronics is currently re-organizing and will not be accepting any new orders at this time (with the exception of CP10A modules). Please check back soon for further updates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2021, 08:02 AM
rapid_ascent rapid_ascent is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,578
Default

Well that's not good news.

Anyone have a set of the 2 point converters sitting on a shelf somewhere that they aren't planning to use.
__________________
Ray Tonks
2020 Donation Paid
Titan IOX-370, Dual PMAGs, 9.6:1 Pistons, FM-150
RV-7 Fuselage in progress
* Cabin Interior - In progress
RV-7 SB Wings
* Both Wings fully skinned
* Fuel Tanks Complete - No leaks finally
* Ailerons Complete
* Flaps Complete
RV-7 Empennage - Complete (a little fiberglass work left)
Vans Training Kit # 2 - Complete
RV-7 Preview Plans
Vans Training Kit #1 - Complete
EAA Sheet Metal Class - Complete
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2021, 08:23 AM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 2,678
Default issue

I think that this is a misconception that many have.

The Princeton capacitance probes output 0-5v; for the Garmin setup, no converter is needed.

Princeton ALSO sells "converters" to change frequency output, from other manufacturers, into 0-5v output.

You also need to know that they recommend using ship power for the sensors. They said that the GEA24 does not have sufficient output to drive the sensor.

You may also be able to reset the 5 point sensor...

I spoke with Todd some time ago, and he sent me these supplemental instructions:

Multi Set-Point Supplemental Instructions

The multi set-point feature of the probe allows the selection of 1S, 2S and 5S modes.

1S (Calibrate Empty)

-The output will be 0 volts for empty and approximately 1.5 to 3.5 volts for full. -Used by Dynon and Advanced Flight EFIS Systems.
-Can be used by Grand Rapids Technologies EFIS.
-Has the advantage of not having to empty the tanks to calibrate the EFIS.

2S (Calibrate Empty and Full)

-The output will be 0 volts for empty and 5 volts for full. It is linear between the two. -For use with Grand Rapids Technologies and Chelton EFIS.
-Used with analog gauges and some EFIS that use a calibration table.
-Gives greater voltage range on the output.

5S (Calibrate Empty, 1⁄4, 1⁄2, 3⁄4, and Full)

-Used with analog gauges and some EFIS that use a calibration table. -For use with Grand Rapids Technologies and Chelton EFIS. -Linearizes the output for analog gauges.
-For an EFIS, enter a linear chart in the table.
-Gives greater voltage on the output.

Stratomaster Calibration

-The probe can be re-calibrated an unlimited number of times.
-The only calibration sequence for the Stratomaster version is empty.
-Calibration can be entered or restarted at any time.
-To enter calibration mode, hold the button down while turning on the power.
-The empty set point can take as long as 16 second. All other set points are less than 2 seconds. -Water affects the probe, giving it a reading of full. Water will not hurt the probe. The surface
tension of water will make it hard to be removed from the probe. Gently tapping the probe will help.

To Select the Set-Point Setting:
1. Power off the module.
2. Short the output (yellow wire) to ground.
3. Press and hold down button.
4. While holding down the button, turn power on.
5. After 10 seconds, the lights will turn off. Keep button pressed.
6. The left light will come on, then it will shift to middle, then to the right light and then all lights will light. It will repeat this continually until you let go of the button.
7. Release the button when the appropriate light is on.
8. Turn off the power and remove short to ground from the output.

Left Light = 1S
Middle Light = 2S
Right Light = 5S
Middle & Right Lights = Stratomaster


Knowing what I know now, If I build again, I will use the CiES sensors for fuel quantity...
__________________
Bob
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10
N464RL

Dues+ Paid 2020,...Thanks DR+

Last edited by rocketman1988 : 09-02-2021 at 08:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2021, 08:27 AM
rapid_ascent rapid_ascent is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,578
Default

Bob, thanks for that info. I'll have to check with ACS on the 5 point units. I went back and took a closer look and it says special order so they may not have any stock. I'll give them a call though and see.
__________________
Ray Tonks
2020 Donation Paid
Titan IOX-370, Dual PMAGs, 9.6:1 Pistons, FM-150
RV-7 Fuselage in progress
* Cabin Interior - In progress
RV-7 SB Wings
* Both Wings fully skinned
* Fuel Tanks Complete - No leaks finally
* Ailerons Complete
* Flaps Complete
RV-7 Empennage - Complete (a little fiberglass work left)
Vans Training Kit # 2 - Complete
RV-7 Preview Plans
Vans Training Kit #1 - Complete
EAA Sheet Metal Class - Complete
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2021, 08:45 AM
KatanaPilot KatanaPilot is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 738
Default

So Iíll ask again since I may be one of those who donít understand how these probes work.

If you are using the G3X system with the GEA 24 and capacitance probes like the Princeton or Westach, do you need a converter since the GEA allows a frequency input? What am I missing here?
__________________
Krea Ellis

Locust Grove, GA
DA20-A1 "Princess Amelia" - gone home to Amelia Island
RV-7A Phase 2 (Honored to be Van's "Miss July" 2021)
RV-10 under construction at Synergy Air South
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2021, 08:50 AM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 2,678
Default probe

I cannot speak for the westach but my Princeton probes output 0-5v,not frequency, and are compatible with the GEA24, as is...no converter required.

You are also correct in that the Garmin system allows for either voltage or frequency...so there should be no converter required either way...
__________________
Bob
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10
N464RL

Dues+ Paid 2020,...Thanks DR+
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2021, 09:02 AM
rapid_ascent rapid_ascent is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,578
Default

Krea,

There is a difference between the "probe" and the converter. The probe is a passive capacitor. In the case of the Vans kit is a set a plates. Princeton also makes (or did) make a probe which is really just the sensor. The probe then needs to interface to some electronics to make either a frequency or a voltage that can be measured. So some sort of electronic converter is needed before it can be connected to the the GEA module.
__________________
Ray Tonks
2020 Donation Paid
Titan IOX-370, Dual PMAGs, 9.6:1 Pistons, FM-150
RV-7 Fuselage in progress
* Cabin Interior - In progress
RV-7 SB Wings
* Both Wings fully skinned
* Fuel Tanks Complete - No leaks finally
* Ailerons Complete
* Flaps Complete
RV-7 Empennage - Complete (a little fiberglass work left)
Vans Training Kit # 2 - Complete
RV-7 Preview Plans
Vans Training Kit #1 - Complete
EAA Sheet Metal Class - Complete
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2021, 09:14 AM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 2,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapid_ascent View Post
Krea,

There is a difference between the "probe" and the converter. The probe is a passive capacitor. In the case of the Vans kit is a set a plates. Princeton also makes (or did) make a probe which is really just the sensor. The probe then needs to interface to some electronics to make either a frequency or a voltage that can be measured. So some sort of electronic converter is needed before it can be connected to the the GEA module.
Sorry, but those probes, not the plates, are not just passive capacitors...the electronics are built into the mounting puck.

The Princeton probes require NO converter, as they output 0-5v...go ahead and check the installation manual and FAQs on their website.

http://www.northwing.com/Princeton-F...bes-Manual.pdf

https://www.princeton-electronics.co...questions.html

The converter is only required if using vans plates, which are just that...plates.
__________________
Bob
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10
N464RL

Dues+ Paid 2020,...Thanks DR+
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.