What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wing Bolt Shear Strength

Daniel S.

Well Known Member
Knowledge based discussion here... Bored at work and started thinking about those 16 bolts that my life depends on. On the -7 we have 8 NAS1307 & 8 NAS1304 bolts rated at a min shear strength of 95,000 psi & a tension strength of 180,000 psi... Has anyone been nerdy enough to figure out what types forces are placed on this area at 6 g's? While the wing attachment area is small, it's quite beefy when compared to big c-310s & c-406's. (Planes much larger & heavier)... I'm definately not questioning the strength of our wing attachement areas. I'm just kind of curious what types of forces are placed on these bolts... The pressure must be IMMENCE for this 4-6inch area!!! So, does anyone know what actual structural strength of the wing root is vs. the flight envelope? Obviously, I'm not an engineer :cool: Just random thoughts.:D

Adequate

No I haven't calculated the ultimate safety factor of the wing attach bolts (although I could). They are adequate for the application. How do I know? Because Vans load tested an actual wing to the 6 g's plus the 1.5 safety factor above that. The wing and wing bolts didn't break. One test is worth a thousand opinions.

I could calculate it, but if I start doing that i'm going to end up getting dragged into designing the tapered wing that i've always wanted for the -6. I don't have time for that yet, so i'm going to resist temptation... For now.

Taperwing on a 6 from snowflake

You just have to tease us, I really think you should proceed on your dream,
besides I would hope you would share with the rest of us so you are not the only 6 out there with tapered wings --------------we have to have a little fun
Ken
Rv6 flying
assembling a rocket

go look at the spar/supports on say a decathlon and then tell me the RV looks weak